#Ulog_07 You hate people poking nose in your personal life? Then keep it off social media

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

There is this pretty friend of mine that developed the habit of advertising her new fiancé on her Facebook timeline. “My fiancé this, My boo that… Where they had their lunch at, what they ate for the day. She fills us in with pictures and every other little detail on Facebook without any atom of privacy.

Source

Acting as if it's her first time to be in a relationship, so obsessed and deranged by the new system. Even ifs the highest achievement of one's life is to marry.
The shit was hurting us (I in particular) that are single, especially in this cold weather. Don’t get me wrong, My problem is not that my friend is in a happy relationship while I am single, lonely and horny. My problem is that she always tag me on each and every post. I have to wake up every morning to go through spam notifications coming from her about her relationship.

I kept on enduring until I got used to it. Moreover, it was now more like a reality tv show to me. So i grabbed a bucket of popcorn and followed up the show by always liking the posts and commenting how the radiance they emit whenever they are together awestruck me. Encouraging every step they take as much as I can.

Source
Around December last year, She posted two different types of exquisite and impeccable gold plated rings. Asking us to help her select which is more fitting for her marriage. We all showed our care and concern by commenting. From that day onwards, she just couldn’t post any picture without flaunting the engagement ring. She poses so eloquently that even a blind man can see that her world is revolving around the relationship.
Less I forget, during her engagement party, we all attended it live on Facebook by watching the videos and pictures. We all wished her well too… I for one have already bought a new wedding suite, waiting for the wedding date. So I can attend and eat the imaginary fried rice and chicken.

Boom!!! All of a sudden, she stopped posting pictures
of the wedding to be, She even deleted the ones she posted before. Can you imagine? Deleting such sweet memories along with our outstanding comments. No more My fiancé this, My Fiancé that. She changed her Facebook relationship status from Engaged to Its complicated. She now uploads her pictures with inspirational quotes as captions and to crown it all, we stopped to see the charming engagement ring on her finger.

We the Facebook family that has been following up the relationship updates for up to a year became so worried. I for one wasn’t really worried about her but to I needed to know how the story ended. Does it have a happy or sad ending? I felt so entitled to know. Its more like Game of Thrones tells us that they won't release the Season 8 anymore without explaining their reasons for it. After we have invested half of our lives in following up the movies and all those months they left us in suspense. We all deserve to know how it ends.

While some of us dropped our worries on her comments thread, others invaded her inbox asking what happened to our luxurious engagement ring and our cute husband to be, who we had already endorsed us as in-laws, but she kept ignoring us and sometimes try to change the subject.

Trust our joblessness, we needed answers and wouldn’t take silence or hocus-pocus for that, so we kept invading and breaking her inbox until she couldn’t take it anymore.

Finally… she called us out one more time on her post recently. When I saw the notification, I was so happy that I am finally getting to see the end of the show while I am alive. I have invested so much time on her relationship updates that if I die without seeing the end, I doubt my soul will ever rest in peace.
Only for me to get to the post and saw her calling us gossips and haters. Also warning us to leave her life alone and mind our business.

Now I kept wondering when her life stopped being our business... As a matter of fact. She doesn’t have the right to make use of that possessive pronoun “HER life” anymore because it's “OUR life”. She got us so much involved in that life that we started living it with her.
So why now turn around to call us haters and gossips?

YOU MADE IT OUR BUSINESS SINCE THE DAY YOU BROUGHT IT TO "SOCIAL MEDIA"

Sometimes our haters are people telling us the raw truth and refuse to listen. This time around, We are haters because we are demanding for the end of the unfinished story.

Source
Brethren in the lord, If you don’t want people asking questions about your life, please keep them to yourself, observe others and pass. Don’t come to social media to showcase yourself and get people involved in your life and when the chips are down, they try to ask questions, you tag them gossips, haters, busybodies and cyber-bullies.

Don’t start telling a story you can't finish…

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Privacy is a luxury brother...beautiful post. Nice seeing you again. I hope all works out for you...

Nice to know that you love the post... I really look forward to see your post. You hardly write lately...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sparrowbernard from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @sparrowbernard! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow, such a wonderful write up. This is the reason why i don't engage in social media madness. Some people updates can be so frustrating that you will regret having an account. Thank you for this post. BTW, get yourself a girlfriend and stop been single 😜

Lol... Trust me, I need more upvotes than a girlfriend... Steem power comes along with girlfriend

Good point broight in...in the midst of publicity in social media we forget the privacy of ones personal life...it was not there bit intrduction of social media make everything possible...thoigh i am not in facebook...it was very pathetic expereince i had ..

Thats why i prefer steemit to other social medias... Even if i must expose my privacy, atleast i get some money for doing it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84