ULOG: WEIRD DOCUMENTATION OF MY DINNER FOR 7 DAYS

in #ulog6 years ago

Helo steemians. Today, I want to do something different from what I normally do on my ulogs. Not like I won’t still get to keep you up to date with the details of my life as a construction engineer, but today I want to show you all the foods I have been able to have as dinner for the past one weeks (7 days).

I am not someone you would refer to as a foody or a glutton because I get to eat just once a day due to the nature of my job and so when I want to have that one meal for the day, I try my best to see that it is worth it.

You might also want to ask how I manage to prepare these delicacies within my tight schedule but remember what they say about will and way? Where there is a will, there is always a way.

For the foreigners who will be reading this, I will try as much as possible to explain these dishes for you in such a way that you wouldn’t get lost in this picture story.

DAY 1: EBA and NSALA SOUP

Eba is a delicacy we eat here in Nigeria which is made from cassava. The cassava will be dried, grounded and fried in a dry frying pan to remove every form of moisture. When it is done, we make it into a mould like you see in the picture below. Oh, I forgot to tell you that we also call Eba, Garri over here.

Now over to Nsala soup. For those who may find this difficult to pronounce, it is pronounced N-SALA. We sometimes call it white soup because we don’t add red oil when preparing it. It also often comes out very watery as we don’t get to add thickeners to it as well. Nsala soup is best prepared with fresh fish and where you can’t find fresh fish, goat meat become the next and best substitute. But there may be cases where getting any of those might seem a bit difficult, then chicken or just beet might come in handy.

IMG-20180220-WA0040.jpg

Nsala soups are not always prepared with so much vegetables and most times, they are often spicy and tastes like pepper soup. It is a wonderful delicacy, though not my best soup, but I just chose to prepare it that day because of its ease to prepare.

DAY 2: WHEAT and NSALA SOUP

Owk I was raised well and was taught not to waste my left over dishes because we have lots of people around who are looking for just a little to eat and so I had the left over from my Nsala soup but this time with wheat.

I am very sure not everyone know that wheat could be made into moulds and eaten with soup. Well, over here in Nigeria, we normally enjoy this delicacy when we do not want to eat anything heavy. Wheat is known to be a relatively light-weight food rich in fibre and very good for the body. Its digestion rate is faster compared to Eba and many other starchy foods.

IMG-20180220-WA0037.jpg

I came in that night feeling weak and couldn’t prepare anything new and I knew that having Eba that night would be a disaster for me and so I settled for wheat.

DAY 3: INDOMIE NOODLES and CHICKEN

Owh, making this post just reminds me of the good things I have taken into my belly, lolzz. On this day, I decided to try out some noodles since they call it 2 minutes noodles. It is relatively a fast dish and cooking it doesn’t take any time at all.

While I was coming back from work, I decided to get some carrots. Wanted to get some meat but quickly remembered that I had chicken left over from my Nsala soup and so settled to finish that before it gets sour.

IMG-20180220-WA0041.jpg

I added a little bit of curry and thyme to change the colour and taste of the noodle a bit and within a short time, dinner was served.

DAY 4: FRIED YAM, FRIED PLANTAIN and FRIED EGGS

On this day, I decided to have some fries. Been a while I had fries because I hadn’t always the time to fry since it takes quite some time to.

Came back early that day and decided to have something different. Already had a tuber of yam in my house and decided to get plantains on my way back from work. Also got three eggs which I later realised were bad when I wanted to fry them. Had to go get two other eggs. Was really sad that the woman had to sell bad eggs for me but I didn’t want to cause trouble that night, else I would have returned the bad eggs to the woman and asked for a refund.

IMG-20180220-WA0036.jpg

A little salt, a little pepper, a little oil and dinner was ready.

DAY 5: MOI-MOI

Hehehehe, are you guys finding it difficult pronouncing this already? Well, just pronounce it the way you see it and you are good to go.

Moi moi is a delicacy made from beans. The beans will be soaked in water and the pericarp removed. After the removal of the pericarp, the beans will be grounded properly and then mixed with ingredients such as maggi, salt, pepper, curry (not compulsory), water, oil and maybe fish if you like.

IMG-20180220-WA0034.jpg

Moi moi is usually a little difficult to prepare and most times, people just prefer to get it from road site sellers. For someone as busy as I am, preparing it in my house will be so impossible, so I decided to patronise the road site sellers and when I started eating it, I realised that it was prepared with fish and I was like …yummmyyyyyy!

DAY 6: FRIED RICE, FRIED PLANTAIN and FRIED BEEF

I feel so embarrassed sharing this food with you because I messed it up. It was actually my first time preparing friends rice and I wanted to give it my best shot but ended up messing the whole thing up. Well, probably because I was too famished.

But why didn’t I just go for something simpler? Actually got back from work early yesterday and wanted to prepare something sophisticated. Talking about sophisticated foods, fried rice is so one of them. The technicality involved in its preparation is second to none. Would have loved to tell you a bit about its preparation but oi think I will just leave it for a full blown post where I will show you how to prepare it in detail. You might not get to like the sight if the food, I didn’t either, but I just had to each and enjoy it that way because I was hungry.

IMG-20180220-WA0033.jpg

This was actually what I ate just yesterday and I finished the remaining this morning because, one funny thing about fried rice is that, it doesn’t last more than a day. It gets spoilt real fast and so should be finished as fast as possible.

DAY 7: NOODLES and FRIED PLANTAIN

Well, today was quite a very hectic day at work and I had no atom of strength left in me. I thought about eating out but couldn’t since I wasn’t used to it. Wanted to call a female friend of mine to come help me prepare something to eat but figured that might take forever. I thought about having bread and tea but that would warrant me going out in search of bread and so I gave up on that option too and the easiest thing that came to mind was noodles.

IMG-20180220-WA0031.jpg

Since I didn’t want to eat the noodles just like that and since there was no meat to compliment the food like the last time, I had to fry the remaining plantains from yesterday and had my delicacy

Well, this is the end of my 7-day food exhibition and I hope you enjoyed reading this post. This idea just came to mind just recently and I decided to include it in my ulogs. This will become a weekly affair and I hope to have you all go through them each time I make a post on it. Do have a wonderful day.

HOPE YOU DID NOT SALIVATE…lolzz

Sort:  

Hahaha... This is Interestingly awesome

If you really prepared all these. I'll be seriously thinking for someone @desmoniac

Hahahahahaha

Ishi aki... Lolz

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sistem from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You have been enjoying urself oh... See food nah

If i show you my own, u Myt throw up oh. Lol

You tight o, after you na you!

I love the way you are taking time to enjoy yourself unlike other guys who goes out to buy everything they eat and abandoning the kitchen all in the name of having no time to eat.

You will surely make a great husband!

Hahahaa am blushing... U can say that again.

I haven't eaten noodles with banana yet. Of all the food I think it is the banana and the noodles that I like the most.

HAhahaha its plantain not banana. I dont even know how banana would taste with noodles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64