ULOG: Lost a dear friend yesterday…Not happy at all.

in #ulog6 years ago

FB_IMG_1530447187390.jpg
RIP ONYEDIKA IGILI


This is me today writing with a very heavy heart. Sometimes I sit and wonder, WHY ALL THE STRUGGLES?

It is a story of a dear friend who I lost to a ghastly motor accident yesterday. Funny enough, I wasn’t really close to this guy while we were in the university but I always admired him from a distance because he was a very smart young boy. We spoke one or two times and I really learnt a lot from him those few times. He motivated me to be better and I loved the energy which he expended in trying to help the world.

He was a vibrant youth and one you wouldn’t refer to as lazy. A first class graduate who was granted a $10,000 scholarship to carry on with his masters degree program in one of the most popular schools in Nigeria (University of Nigeria, Nsukka).

He met his early end on his way to the school and died a very painful death as you will see from the video I will upload later.

Why do good people die? Why was he taken away too soon? My heart bleeds and I wonder again, why all the struggles?.

He was a very liberal young man, always ready to help. He usually organised free tutorials back then in the university and lots of people could attach their success in my department to him. He was a very patient person and always ready to give words of advice.

I remember talking to him once and telling him how much I envied him after he told me about his achievements and visions. I saw the energy in him and was able to key to his passion. I wanted to be like him and so kept a close watch at him from a distance.

I never collected his contact and so never got to communicate with him over the phone. We left school and I forgot totally about him only to be told on a social media platform (whatsapp) this morning that he is dead. How did he die? I asked. He died in an auto crash, they said. Who was driving? I asked. He was driving. They said.

He has a car and I never knew. Now imaging a young boy who already had a car, not from his parents or from scamming others, but from his hard work and diligence. This was a boy with a very promising future. A boy who was supposed to change the face of technology if he was given more time here with us. Do I blame God for this? No I don’t, because He is the master planner. He gives and He takes. He knows the reason why this has happened and so we can’t begin to question him. All we can do is grief because we are hurt.

This has been very hurtful because I knew and admired this young boy and now he is no more. Below is a video showing how he was trapped in his car after the accident with his blood all over the ground. He died a painful death and I couldn’t help but drop a tear when I saw this video later today. So sad.

Now below are some picture splash of this young boy when he was alive.

FB_IMG_1530176240352.jpg
This is Onyedika during a tech presentation

FB_IMG_1530306675154.jpg
This is Onyedika signing an autograph for a white friend

FB_IMG_1530176256944.jpg
This is Onyedika being handed a certificate of excellence

FB_IMG_1530176231804.jpg
This is Onyedika teaching school children computer

FB_IMG_1530176251942.jpg

FB_IMG_1530176245752.jpg
Onyedika with friends after the award

May the soul of the faithfully departed rest in peace

Sort:  

This is so sad I must say, he had a very promising future, oh no, may God have mercy on all of us, sometimes I sit and wonder what have I done to deserve so much grace and mercy, well as you said "God is the master planner" let's just put everything in his hands, may his gentle soul rest in peace, Amen. it's well my brother, take heart.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Gone too soon.. Indeed the grave has a lot of buried talents.. .. Damn!

Am teary-eyed hearing of your friend's too early and tragic passing yesterday, @sistem. His look and his energy was strong and had a sense of purpose. He shared who he was, his gifts and talents with all those around him and he will be sorely missed by those who loved him and whose lives were touched and graced by him.

I send prayers for God's Blessings on Onyedika, all his family, you and everyone of his friends, loved ones and all who grieve his passing.

I prefer to remember him via the wonderful pictures you shared of him interacting with friends, students and being awarded. Such a great man.

Rest In Peace, dear Onyedika Igili. xxx

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

My condolences

Oh God this is so sad.. Sorry for your loss sir 😞😞

Good die young. RIP

Take heart dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29