You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: uLog #36 - It Really Is All About Community!

in #ulog6 years ago

This is KILLING my internal OCD...

Are they trying to confuse us?

I took one day of French in college, and it began with the counting. I signed up on registration day because a cutie was in line. I sat behind her and asked her out on the first day of classes. She said no. The geology course I took after dropping French that next day, never came in handy at all. :D

Sort:  

LOL, this bugged me too as soon as I saw it. ;-)

The funny thing is, when I went to Luxembourg, I was already signed up to take German classes, thanks to the German lawyer/banker for whom I was going to do legal research.

It took me roughly a nanosecond to realize that most of what you hear spoken in the street is not German, or even Luxembourgish (which is a German dialect), but French.

C'est la vie.

And did you already speak French?

LOL, I wish, but no, not worth a damn. My French was, and remains, fairly abysmal, though it remains a language that both Marek and I would love to learn.

But the funny thing about the French, despite all I was told about them "hating Americans," is that that's a complete fallacy. They do dislike being treated rudely, and are masters and handing it right back, which in context I find completely understandable. I dislike rude Americans too. ;-)

But the French I met in Europe, whether in France, Luxembourg or elsewhere, were exceptionally nice people, and went out of their way to be nice to me as I attempted to speak their language, just because I tried.

The few words and phrases I speak I can pronounce fairly well, though I have nowhere near enough of a vocabulary to hold even a meager conversation, but managed to communicate at least marginally through a combination of a handy phrase book, charades and pointing.

I have no doubt that, for an onlooker fluent in both languages, it was probably pretty hilarious. ;-)

I've never been to Europe but it sounds wònderful. I've stryggled to learn french but it's never "stuck" so I'm sure they'd have a good giggle...it's nice to know they are good about it. Lol... I sometimes DO need to know where the bathroom is. Lol

That messed with my OCD, too... 😆

LOL!!! It's nice to know I wasn't the only one who saw this! Ahh...community!

lmfaooooo corkyyyy hahahah

LOL!!! I wondered if anyone would notice! You didn't miss much.....French is a bitch! LOL!

Turns out the girl was too! Just kidding, I actually ended up dating her later anyway :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64