ULOG #11 - What Do I Do With All These Leeks?

in #ulog6 years ago

What Do I Do With All These Leeks?

Leeks.jpg

I'm serious!!!

You can't just buy one leek!!!

They're sold in bunches.

What are these things anyway??? I guess they're some kind of big giant onion. They're huge! You can buy one onion, but not one LEEK! You have to buy the whole bunch.

Did you ever see a recipe that calls for a bunch of leeks? I think NOT!

The other day when I made Szechuanese Twice Ccooked Pork, I used one leek, but had to buy a bunch. So now I'm in search of other tasty ways to use up the rest of my leeks.

Last night was poached cod with mashed potatoes and leeks.

It's a pretty simple recipe.

The white and light green part of a couple of leeks cut in half lengthwise, two sprigs of fresh thyme and a few smashed up garlic cloves.

LeeksThymeGarlic.jpg

Boil up about a pound and a half of Yukon Gold potatoes until tender and coarsely mash them up.

Potatoes.jpg

Simmer the leeks, thyme and garlic in 3 cups of milk for a few minutes until the leeks soften up.

SimmerLeeks.jpg

Add in about a pound of cod fillets and continue simmering until the cod begins to flake.

Plate it up in a shallow bowl and enjoy!

PlateItUp.jpg

If I ever make this again, I would add some bacon to the recipe. Other than that, it was pretty tasty.

Tonight, I'm thinking leek will be included in some type of stir fry. Check back tomorrow for the update!

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

That's a lot of leeks. That dish is perfect with a piece of bread and a glass of wine. I really enjoy the dishes that you prepare. Always very new to me.

That's exactly what I had with it! My wife is going out tonight, so I'm cooking for myself. I'm not sure if I'll make mussels or squid??? I'm glad that you are enjoying my dishes as I do of yours! Thank you for your comments!

Why not have both squid and mussels lol. I know there is still hope for your wife's taste for it. Keep on cooking Roger!

I want to try to make mussels and lobster in a chimichurra sauce. That's what my wife had at the restaurant. I only had a small taste, but it was pretty good.

Waw! You love vegetables a lot.

I want to ask if you are as old as the man in your profile picture. If the answer is positive, then I will be super excited that we have senior citizen on steemit!

Hahaha! Yep! I'm that old! I wrote my first computer program on keypunch cards and ran it on a mainframe.

Do you write codes even at this age?

I am curious:)

I wrote code up until a couple of years ago. Now I just do my photography!

I wish you the best

Yeppie!!!🎊

This is super fantastic!

Thank you for the suggestion! I have to give it a try although it's been a little too hot for soup here lately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41