ULOG #20: The Unexpected Chayote Sprout

in #ulog6 years ago

My husband defrosted our fridge two days ago and I can't believe he would find the secrets I was hiding from him. From the hidden chocolates, to the unfinished milk boxes, to the almost rotten tofu I forgot to fry when I cooked Togue guisado some two or three weeks ago. I have always made a mental note to dispose of it but I always forget.
20180912_141658.jpg

But what surprised us the most was what's hidden down below. The chayote sprout that grew from inside the chiller. I know I have forgotten about the chayote but I didn't know that it would strive and grow into a pale little vine.

Today, my little one decided not to have her siesta. Which means I won't have mine either. So I decided to bring her outside the house and get some dirt on. I planted my chayote in a pot!

Since this is a climbing plant, I will have to create something fir it to climb on. So here's what I did.

  1. I put holes on an old mop pail I haven't used in months. I used my trusty old hammer and a one inch nail (basically because that's all I have in the toolbox.)
    20180912_150803.jpg

  2. Gather 4-6 bamboo sticks. We used to have a bamboo pole for our antenna but since we aren't using it anymore, I chopped down the bamboo pole. It's already dry and brittle so it was really easy to make the sticks. I'm not sure how tall I should make the sticks but I think I was able to make some 2 to 3 feet of sticks.
    20180912_151440.jpg

  3. Then I put holes where I can tie the bamboo sticks.
    20180912_151218.jpg

  4. I tied the sticks. I was only able to use 5 of them because my little one already used the other stick as her sword.
    20180912_152526.jpg

  5. I mixed soil and some of my compost. I don't think I should use it already but I needed more soil for my chayote and I am really excited to use it.
    20180912_152930.jpg

  6. I weaved a sort of net-like structure where my chayote leaves could crawl.
    20180912_153708.jpg

And there you go! I have my chayote in a pot!
20180912_161753.jpg

It doesn't look like much today but I'm excited to see her grow! Hopefully she grows greener no that she's out in the sun.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

ROMESKIE.gif


image




Discord link

romeskie.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I upvoted your post because you simply deserve it.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Please vote @Yehey as one of your Witness. Join us at https://SteemChat.com steem community.
Use @automation chat bot for a fun conversation.

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83