ULOG Post #3 - SBD Crashes and Causes Earthquake! Well... not exactly.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Earthquake.jpeg
I woke up this morning and made my way to the coffee pot. I poured me a cup of coffee, added a little pure honey, and off the to computer I went. I was hoping that the price of SBD went up overnight but nope, it actually lost over .10 cents against the price of STEEM. Currently the ration of SBD to STEEM is not good and deteriorating. Oh well, not going to convert to STEEM today at these prices.

SBD to Steem.PNG

Then it hit! 😨 At first it was just a little jolt, followed by some shaking. It wasn't even a real side-to-side motion, just some strong shaking. Usually when I feel a little quake, I will remain calm, but today's shaker lasted for around 10-12 seconds and I had thoughts of heading to the door way. I actually did get up out of my chair but by that time the shaking began to subside. I went to the patio door and looked out at the pool and the water was calm (which is evidence that there was not much rolling motion.) I then took the time to report it to the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program under the "Did You Feel It" link. I figured they need all the info they can muster after being so focused on the events in Hawaii.

After that, I packed up my gear and headed to the gym for a racquetball workout. Afterwards in the steamroom, I learned that only about half the people there at the gym actually felt the earthquake. Maybe it wasn't that strong afterall, but I will check out the Ricter scale report later. My guess was that it was about a 4.0 (you can never really tell though).

So I'm back home now and just finished up my protein drink and am now wondering what is on the menu for lunch. My big decision now is whether to take a power nap before lunch or do I wait until after lunch and snooze away the afternoon? In any case, we are bowling this evening and that means a couple of beers will be had and a late supper afterwards. Then I turn-in and will start the same routine all over again tomorrow... with the exception of the earthquake - hopefully it doesn't repeat itself. I wonder if was caused by the SBD crashing? 😋

Sort:  

Checking on the USGS data, this morning's quake was measured at a Magnitude 5.3 - 62km ESE of Rota, Northern Mariana Islands. That puts the epicenter about 100nm NE of Guam where I am currently at, and that is close enough for me!

That is a pretty strong quake. It figures many folks don't even feel it, we have lots of zombies running around nowadays.

They must be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91