How I recovered my hacked Steemit account which the password was changed.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I have not blogged for about two days now because my account was hacked and the hacker changed my password.

Screenshot_20180510-123034.png


On the 10th of may 2018, which was a day before yesterday. I woke up and picked my phone like every other days to type my article for the morning (I usually upload two articles daily, on in the morning while the other by evening) after typing I uploaded the article (7am) and I went offline.

Screenshot_20180512-081258.png

I stepped out of my house around 11am to a friends place, on getting there my friend's brother sent him on an errand. I waited for awhile because as I got there it started raining. I was having issue with a friend of mine before then so I had to send him a text message which he replied and the case was closed.
When the rain reduced I decided to go home on getting to the house I decided to login to check the progress of my article.

I opened my browser and I inputted the web address (https://steemit.com), after loading I noticed that my account wasn't logged in. I tried logging in but it kept telling me incorrect password I was shocked, I had to go back to my draft to copy the password again. I inputted my details again but still saying same thing, then I know there are forces at work.
I went to the stach discord channel which I happen it be a moderator there, I talked to other moderators explaining and asking for solutions

Screenshot_20180512-074230.png

But every kept on saying it is difficult in the blockchain except the hacker has my master password.
I was asked to try the account recovery option

Screenshot_20180512-074905.png

Which I did but the reply I got was very discouraging. They were like due to the many application submitted that it is going to take them a long time to process and retrieve the account. I was like, seriously?

I went back to the channel and sow people that did the same account recovery stuff for over 3 months but no reply yet, then I said to myself it is over.

Then coming to think of it who will have access to my master password because I have never used anybody's phone to login except my friend that I was having issues with (the one I sent a text message).

So I called him, I wasn't sure he was the one so I didn't tell him on phone. I told him I'll love to see him the next day which was yesterday and I called a friend of ours who is elderly.

We all met yesterday and I explained all that happened to the elderly person and after all said and done he admitted to the hack and gave my password back.

**Now the question is how was the hack done? **

I'll say it was all me. Because of my fear of forgetting my passwords, I decided to use a general password for all my accounts.
And my Steemit password was saved in my gmail as I draft.
So all he had to do was try the password and my gmail logged in, he copied the password, logged in my account and changed the Steemit password.


But I'm back now, hope you didn't miss me much.
Thanks to all the steemians that called, give me advice and support, I really appreciate.


Thanks for stopping by, I'm @raymondbruce

Sort:  

Better use 1Password to store your passwords than GMail. Its worth the money!

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll check it out

Wow....that's terrible.
Glad you are back man

It was really terrible, I'm also glad too. Thanks

I wish more people would seek out our elders for mediation and solutions. Great job. Happy for you. ,:)
Joy

Ya, because they are really helpful a times

Sorry for what happened, thank God you were able to recover the password from him.

You're welcome.

Thank God for the recovery. Glad to have you back @raymondbruce.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Raymondbruce from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61