Week 3 #ulog #5 - Tis The Season Of Mangoes - I Love It!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Usually around this time and even earlier, mangoes are in season. There are places claiming to have the sweetest mangoes but for me I am not choosy as long as it is sweet and juicy. I have not eaten Mangoes in a while. One because they are expensive and sometimes not sweet. Two, my mom is coughing and eating mangoes will irritate her throat more.

31906133_10156047892125280_6934178653047619584_n.jpg
Last month I saw someone selling mangoes on Facebook, organic or no spray they claimed.. The sizes were smaller than some but it was cheap 100 pesos per kilo so each kilo was either 4-5 pcs or even 6. I wanted to eat some. Well it was ok I gave Jay and his family 5 pcs. Some were sweet, but not so much but still good. Luckily I had some left when some visitor came. Sad to say I was not able to eat much of it.

I was sad because I was not able to try more. Then I saw my cousin posting she bought some from Miagao. I contacted the person and unluckily it was all gone, so I made a reservation for their next harvest May 23-24. Finally I was informed they harvested so I ordered 8 kilos for myself and 2 for a classmate. But I had to order 10 more kilos for my niece.

33487133_10156087061105280_8432623597943521280_n.jpg
These are my 8 kilos. They are bigger, 4 per kilo. They used spray like the others but minimal. The tree is a centennial tree.(meaning 100 yrs old? wow). My cousin said they were sweet, I am taking her word because I know she loves mangoes.

So these will take about 2 days before fully ripe and not all together which is good. Tomorrow he will deliver the 10 kilos for my cousin, I'm thinking of buying more for myself and my companions, hope I can cash out and it is higher. I plan to get the 2 kilos for Jay and family.

They are bigger and heavier. I have been craving to eat the unripe ones with bagoong or guinamos or salted fish paste (I think)

33223732_10156087061210280_1757094206242816000_n.jpg
The fish paste in the red bowl is actually dark grey color. When you buy them it is usually pinkish but I saute mine in garlic, onions and some pork especially the fat part. We put a little vinegar and sugar. It can actually be eaten as is kind of raw. So I play safe, when we buy (it is kind of expensive too) 80 pesos for a small glass. Jay would clean out the small stones and others, then heat the oil and start to saute the garlic, onions and pork bits, when cooked, he adds the fish paste. The he adds a little vinegar and sugar. It still maintains the salty taste but just got darker in color because it is cooked. It will also last longer in the refrigerator and less smell (for some it has a stinky smell but when you saute it, it smells better and appetizing because of the garlic. When I buy 2-3 glasses after cooking I place them in the ref.for anyone to get because it is a good appetizer especially when you don't feel like eating or if you don't like the food hahaha. It is like an enhancer, you just put a little with the pork or fish or even chicken with your rice and you will be eating a lot. They call it the Filipino caviar. I have never tasted caviar so I would not be able to comment on that. My supply would last a long time. And my cravings satisfied.

I can't wait for tomorrow or Saturday to taste the sweet mangoes.

Pictures are mine

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group #SteemitDiversify and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Others that we should support are: @henry-gant, @kenny-crane, @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @jerrybanfield, @darthnava, @paradise-found, @geetharao, @stephenkendal and @richq11; they also have supported us; also the many others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too. Thank you very much.
I am grateful for them and for everyone who has helped me and my friends. (Quote made by @purpledaisy57 permission given to use for members of SD family)
Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:
https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens
Please like the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/steemgigs/
& Twitter: https://twitter.com/steemgigs
PLEASE SUPPORT: https://steemgigs.org

32781375_1898832713523444_6415269161135505408_n.jpg

28942028_1803363626403687_1389362440_o.jpg

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

thanks for the upvote nice to help those who love food and cooking

Great post ma'[email protected] to taste that caviar too. 😂

Yummy mangoes! =)

Yum! I love mangoes, sometimes we bought some in the market. We have that in my grandmother's house but it didn't bear fruits this year because of the last typhoon who passed by at their place.

I just thought of getting some mangoes today. I'll prolly go buy some tomorrow :)

I love mangoes! Esp from guimaras. ❤️

i love mangoes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45