Ulog #03: Meeting Mang Lito, a 70 year old tricycle driver.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)
This morning, I decided to pamper myself where I can finally free myself from the stress of a weeklong work. While waiting for vehicle to pass by in our gate, I got the chance to meet Mang Lito. I rode with him through a tricycle. While on our way, I started a conversation with him.

67EB651C-59D6-4E73-8DAF-EC6E9E581B98.jpeg

Mang Lito is already 70 years old and a tricycle driver. I have a lot of questions that came out on my mind. A lot of whys. I want to know why he still needs to work merely by the fact that he is already old. When I asked him, he suddenly replied, “alam mo kapag ikaw ay nagkapamilya na, maiintindihan mo ako” (“you’ll gonna understand me when you already have your own family”). It touched my heart so deeply with his words. I am deeply moved to meet a man with such immense love for his family.

He even told me that there were those times he only earned 300.00Php for a day because he needs to take rest for a long period of time. He admitted that he can’t drive under the scorching heat of the sun for a long time because of his blood pressure. He always bring bottle of water for his anti hypertensive drugs and yes! he showed me tablets of medicines. I felt more pity with Mang Lito, when he suddenly said, “Kung mamamatay man ako dahil sa pagmamahal ko sa pamilya ko, handang handa ako.” (“If I will die because of love of my family, I am ready.”) Those words really made my heart cry. I can’t imagine that despite of Mang Lito’s condition, he is trying to do everything for his family. I can see in his eyes that he’s tired but he doesn’t even want to show it.

A24FB014-E994-4DB3-82DF-003797200666.jpeg

I didn’t noticed that we’re already in the place I’m going to. I really want to talk more with him but he needs to drop me off already. Before I go, I captured him a photo. At first, he doesn’t want to look at the camera. He’s a bit shy. I just took a lot a photos of him and selected the best ones. I am hoping to meet Mang Lito again.

Today, It gives me warmth to witness a father’s love to his family. It breaks me to the point that no matter how deprive a man is from all worldly things, an unconditional love can fill out all the emptiness inside. The story of mang lito may serve as an inspiration among all of us to stand on our responsibilities in life and be the best version of ourselves in giving love. Saludo ako sayo Mang Lito!

Thank you for reading steemians!😊

A0291BD4-746E-4830-A717-AE463129AE75.jpeg

Sort:  

I like it

Breaks my heart to see him still work!

Hoping that I am strong as him when I get 70.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oscargabat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44