ULOG #5: I JUST RECEIVED THE MOST PAINFUL DEBIT ALERT IN MY LIFE

in #ulog6 years ago

I signed up for scribd, an online bookstore, about a month back, to access some materials for my final year project. In other for me to gain access to the website I needed to subscribe which I did--for their free trial that should last for 30days, after which a sum of 8.99 will be deducted from my debit card. My initial plan was to cancel the plan before the free trial ends, which is allowed, so I'm not doing anything shady here. Moreover, I did ot have the money tk continue the subscription, well until yesterday.

Yesterday I happened to have sold my 16inches plasma televison which I used in my hostel for peanuts in other to raise money to pay for something else--school related, the money was sent to my account just yesterday. Guys, I just woke up this morning too see that $8.99 ( an equivalent of 3,299 naira) has been deducted from my bank account.

IMG_20180826_020447.png[payment history on scribd]

IMG_20180826_022219_edit.png[$8.99 in naira = 3,299]

I cannot express the pain in my chest right now. This money I intend using for something important on Monday.

Why does it have to be on the day before my subscription is to be renewed that I had to receive that money. I did not get any email to that effect and this is my fault also. I signed up for scribd with my Facebook account which has my old yahoo mail I do not use anymore. It's really, really sad. I've paid for a service I don't need intend using.

I hope you've learnt from my experience. Please keep track of all your transactions. Funny enough I was going to cancel this before subscription before now but this stupid phone of mine keeps lagging and I postponed it to a later date which happens to be today--an hour late. I really don't know what to so. My day has been ruin. It's 2:21 a.m in the morning. I wonder if I can sleep again.

Sort:  

My daughter made a very similar mistake a few months ago. Thankfully she was able to get in touch, argue it on one of the terms, get it canceled and refunded (eventually). It could be worth a try if you can get in touch with them some way. It depends how generous they are. Sometimes our most painful mistakes are the ones we learn from best. I don't even sign up for these things now if I can't risk forgetting and a payment going out.

it is really scary. I really cant do much about it now. I judt have to read as much books as I can now before my subscription ends in september.

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ouch! That one is pretty bad. Hopefully you will come across some unexpected moneys in time to pay for what you need. Hope you got some sleep and the day will turn out better for you.

yeah i did, though briefly. but thanks for your concern. I appreciate

No problem. I have been in tight spots before myself. That kind of anxiety can be the absolute worst.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64