ULOG #12: REMEMBERED

in #ulog6 years ago

I have been making a lot of #ulogs lately. I sometimes fear I am saying too much, but somehow it feels safer sharing your life's experience with people who might never get to meet you in person than with people you know.

Today I got to two different texts from two women who have been instrumental in life and have helped me cope during a very difficult periods in my life.

First is Dami, a medical student student I met on twitter. She is also a writer so it was easy to connect. She also helped me during the period my sister was sick before she died. We did not agree on a lot of things but she never let that get in the way. She made calls and even volunteered to come back my sister up so we could go to the hospital together . I was so scared of going because I did not have the money for her medical bills. Living in a country where there is little or no value for life, this is indeed the scariest thing.

After I lost my sister, she was there to console me, but somehow we drifted apart, I don't know why--or I refuse to say. This was her text yesterday:

IMG_20180904_034617_edit.png

Though it might not seem as much, but it's really heartwarming knowing someone cares enough to think about you or let thoughts of you cross their mind after such a long time. It has been two years since we last spoke. I have this superstitious believe that when old things try to reenter your life new and better things are on the way.

The other person is my bestfriend, Susan. This is the one person in the world that I can say truly cares about my wellbeing. She has been so instrumental in life in so many ways. She has supported me with her time, emotions, and finance, and has not asked or wanted anything in return. That is really a rare thing in this time and age, and I cherish our friendship so much. I hope someday I am able to repay her for all the good things she has done for me. Although we've not spoken in months, she is very close to my heart. I have a habit of misplacing my sim card, so I lost her number, and I'm sure she most have tried to reach me on my old number.

It really does feel good when you are remembered. I have always claimed to love my personal space and indeed I do, but no man is an island, so they say. Sometimes we need people who genuinely care about us around.

So is there anybody you've not heard from in a while? Try reaching out to them. Who knows you might just be saving a life. I remember sometime in 2013, when I hit rock bottom, I was contemplating a lot of silly things, and just right about the time I was going to take action someone called me. And for the first time the question 'how are you doing?' wasn't generic, but a window by which I could pour about my heart to someone and lift off the burden I have so carried for a long time. Some of the things we take for granted might actual change the lives of many people.

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

I get to know you better daily as I follow your blog.

But Never Think You May Not Meet Us Personally Some may be Closer than You may know!!

Thanks @nonsowrites. Always a delight to read You.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99