FIRST ULOG POST: NEW SESSION JITTERS!

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180516_161647.jpg

Another session has just begun at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, Nigeria. Last session was a blast. I had fun and thanks to God, I also passed in flying colours.

But every new academic session has a way of making me nervous. New Class, new courses, the stress I will go through in the new session and all. The last sessional break lasted three months. The first three weeks were full of anxiety and a little panic. The results of the previous session were scheduled to come out three weeks into the break. Every day, I would pray for success.

The D-day finally arrived. The results were out. My heart was pounding. I took my phone to check my results and my hands were shaking. Infact, I was even sweating. But you might want to ask "why all the anxiety and panic?".

I'm a student of pharmacy at Obafemi Awolowo University. In the faculty, you must pass all your courses and the pass mark is 50. You are allowed to write resist examinations for any course you score below 50 but you are allowed a maximum resit of three courses. Failing more than three courses requires a student to repeat the class. I was confident I couldn't fail three courses but I dreaded resit exams. I knew I did well in the exams but in my school's faculty of Pharmacy, you can't be all that confident no matter how well you think you did your exams.

Finally, I summoned the courage to check my results. My hands were shaking but suddenly I screamed. I have passed in flying colours. I couldn't contain my happiness. My scream attracted the attention of my mum. She rushed to my room to check on me. I showed her my results. She knew how anxious I've been in the past weeks and she was so happy for me. From then on, I started to enjoy the break and had lots of adventures that I plan to share in future ulogs😁😁😁

Now the break is over. I've returned to school. My body have gone out of sync with the daily routine during school time. Over the holidays, I've had a few lazy days , waking up and going to bed whenever I want.
There is one last task. I need to overcome new session jitters. It happens to me at the beginning of every new session. To overcome the jitters, I try to reflect on the previous session with a view of what is to come the new session. I reflect on what I did right and what I did wrong the previous session. I get determined to improve on any area I think needs improvement.

I then take notes of my achievements if the previous session. This is a big confidence booster for me. It reminds me of the challenges I overcame in the past and serves to remind me I can overcome anything as long as I put in my best.

Finally, I go through the academic calender for the session. I review them and plan ahead. I also prepare for some extracurricular activities that might take place during the session. Having done all this, I get a renewed sense of purpose and confidence and I become fully prepared to take on the new session. I then tell myself "bring it on!" 😎

Thank you for reading.
NINIHORLAH( Knower of Nothing)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ninihorlah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post have been Upvoted by @BacktoSchool Community

Always follow @backtoschool and use the #bactoschool tag to receive upvotes from backtoschool.

We are a Community aimed at helping Students on the Steem blockchain Pay their school fees from Steemit platform.

Curator : @acheever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67