MY DIARY : The Project Field Trip.

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello, steemian. How are you doing? This is high time for me to share my diary with you. I hope you are going to enjoy it.

I woke up very early this morning on the good side of the bed. Oh, it was around 5:04am. I Jumped out of bed to observe my prayer. After that, I prepared my breakfast and did other necessary things. When it was exactly 7:00 a.m., I set out for my project trip.

I’m actually a final year student at the University of Ilorin, Nigeria. I wanted to work on genotoxicity of fish using in-vivo and in-vitro approach.

You might be wondering what this means and what my discipline is. I’m a life science student.The in-vitro mean studying the external biological context of the fish to determine the fish mutagenicity. And the in-vivo, on the other hand, means studying the internal context or environment of fish. Hope am able to convince you?

The internal context could be blood, gill, kidney, liver while that of external context is usually water. This is because fish is aquatic animal.
images.jpg
I’m to use Asa River as my project site. Those people that are familiar with Kwara state should be able to know the river very well. This Asa River passed through different locations. I’m working on three location out of the rest. Today I’m to visit Aliara location. Aliara is a name of a small village. The river location was named after the name of the village. The river present in this village was impounded as dam to serve as source of drinking water for Ilorin and the surrounding.

I got to the place exactly 7:45. I waited for fisherman for about 20 minutes before they emerged at the bank of the river. When they arrived, I first identified the fish and took their diversity. The tilapia fish is very common in that river. I selected the one I wanted and paid for them.

After that, I set to leave for school because the fish must be alive before getting to the laboratory. It was not easy to get a direct cap from the village. I have to trek a bit before getting a bike. It was not easy at all.
IMG_20180129_122007.jpg
I got to school around 10:30 a.m., and set for the experiment. The species of the fish was identified and dissection followed immediately. Before that, I used a syringe to bring out blood sample.

Then dissection follows. I removed the useful organ I needed from the fish which will serve as my in-vitro sample. The samples was immediately smeared on the slides which will later be viewed under the microscope after few days.

All these are just a process to confirm if the water contains carcinogens

This is how today trip is.

Reports are coming on how the in-vivo was finally done. Enjoy this while it last until another review, have fun.

Love you….mhua!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62