Let me log this in #ULOG : Communication Problem or Cultural in Nature?

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

20180524_161227_HDR-1.jpg

Just this morning I received a telephone call from the main office. Allow mo to share it to all of you after I picked up the phone and greeted the calling party:

Calling party: "Kuya, is Ms. Rachel there?

Me: (Thinking rapidly in advance to anticipate what will happen if I will answer the calling party with a simple, "No, she's not here!". Maybe that calling party needs something to Ms. Rachel that will make her disappointed if I answered it in one word. Maybe they just want to confirm if Ms Rachel is here at this moment. Maybe if I will say that Ms. Rachel is not here, that calling party will have a follow up question of say, "What time will Rachel arrive there?"....then..... I stopped thinking and said....) Uhmm, Ms Rachel will come later at around 5 o' clock!

Calling Party: Ah, okay, she will be there at 5 o' clock so it means she's still in the villa. Thank you kuya, bye!

As soon as I ended the telephone conversation. I got this funny thought that just sprouted in my mind like a mushroom. Well, have you noticed my answer to that calling party? A simple question which is just answerable by Yes she's here or No, she isn't here, became an answer to, "When will she come?" or "What time do you think will she arrive there?"question.

Funny isn't it?

What's funny also is that the calling party accepted my answer and never noticed that my answer though an honest one and relays the message that the person concerned is not around, is not a straight answer as a response to her question and inquiry.
What's more interesting is that the calling party also assumed that Ms. Rachel is still in the place where they presumed that is there.

By the way, the calling party was also a Filipino.

What I want to understand here is that, is there anyone here, Filipino or not who had the same way of answering specially in conversation as I had?

I really knew that my answer was not a direct response to the question but I really believed that the conversation was cut short because I answered the possible follow up question that the calling party might have asked after I answered it in a Yes or No response.
Do you think what I have said is logical as well or seems funny also?

Well anyway, I don't want to generalize it but I really observe the same style of answering to most of my kabayans (countrymen). If majority of my fellow kabayans experience the same style of answering, am I correct to say that maybe it is already part of our culture as Filipinos? Well I stand corrected with that statement.

If there are #steemians here who are expert in psychology and communications, I really encourage you guys to comment below and let us know what you think.

That's all for now. Thank you for reading this far #steemians!

=============n=a=n=t=z==============
Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @acidyo, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

=============n=a=n=t=z==============
Much love, God bless!

Your UPVOTE|RESTEEM|FOLLOW, will always be my source of motivation and inspiration.

Sort:  

Anong gusto mong kainin? Kahit ano. Hehehe

anong klaseng menu yang "kahit ano" ? hahaha!

Haha relate much 😂😊

heheh... im glad you have similar mind with mine..:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54