Ulog: My Housing Roller Coaster

in #ulog5 years ago

I had a super short cryptic post yesterday. I wasn’t trying to write in metaphors and blurbs, hinting at life challenges but not letting myself share, I was just on my mobile, and wanted to share the gist of my feelings without making my thumbs sore.

The news I received today however, reminded me that I am a writer.

And

If you want to be a writer… write. Don’t wait for that perfect living room set up and your MAC, use that pillow to prop that chromebook and sit on the bed!

In December of 2018 I manifested what I thought was the most perfect living situation. I was in a 2 bedroom, spacious apartment, in the city I love, walking distance from malls and restaurants and the town center.

31C4AC30-CF8E-4858-8A8E-AC92AA8F82BE.jpeg

I have loved this apartment, its location, my neighbors, and the life I live here. It makes me happy to come home and smell the beans, and posole, or chorizo or machaca. My house is no longer the only house emitting smells of sopita.

I still love it.

But now, I am treating it more like a fancy hotel I am vacationing at (fancy because hotels are usually small), and less like my home that I will be in forever.

I am still enjoying myself of course, it is hard not to when the sun shines through your window and the Chula Vista breeze caresses your arms. And it still feels like home of course. I grew up here and my ancestors traveled through here time and time again. Im just also actively manifesting a different set up.

Because I am getting kicked out.

My apartment complex was sold and the new owners are not honoring my contract.

Gentrifying bastards.

They are taking my newly buffed and painted apartment with two toned walls, new toilets and sinks, new stove and fridge, and gutting it. The floors that were put in just six months ago are once again getting ripped up and replaced by some other type of “latest”.

Me. I am fighting gentrification with home ownership. I am buying condo similar in size to the apartment I am in now. I will be in the same city, one zip code over, and my children will be in the same school. They just won’t be able to walk there in less than five minutes.

Maybe.

Because the news I got today is that I will NOT be signing docs for my home tomorrow. There is actually one more condition that is left and needs to be met. And it will take 4-6 business days for the decision to be made.

So here I am. Enjoying my Chula Vista apartment that I did not pay rent for in June. Waiting for the Chula Vista Condo that I did pay a fat deposit for to accept my loan, and just kind of hanging out and seeing what happens.

I have gone past the 30 days that they gave me to vacate. I have received the three day notice to pay rent or vacate. And I have been informed that they have started the eviction process.

Well.

Suck it. I am not ready to move yet and California Law says that it will take you AT LEAST 120 days to kick me out.

I sure hope my condo works itself out by that time.

In the meantime, I will keep praying.

And saving my money.

Sort:  

oh dear @metzli
And you are taking it so well... at least in the post
Sending you a tonne of love
Hope this mess sorts out ... well at least before the 120th day <33

I am handling it well in real life as well - lots of prayer, meditation, and trust that something better is coming.

Thanks for sending love - the news I received today makes it seem like 7 more days and then I can enjoy my new spot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98