The ground just shook

in #ulog6 years ago

My father and I just went to buy something for lunch, got ourselves some pretty excellent rotisserie chicken from a local restaurant, and drove back to grandma's place. You might tell me that it's typical for us to remember flavors from our childhood as special, and I won't deny it, but yeah.... it was out of this world.




We are sitting down on the kitchen table of this old house, and when I say old I mean that lovingly. According to the story grandpa built it before my dad was born, so its on it's experiencing its seventh decade at the moment. I was staring at the walls, thinking about how some things never change when all of the sudden the cups inside the kitchen cabinets start to chime.

My vision got a little blurry or so I thought - "maybe, that's enough chicken and salad" but as I was thinking those words, the chiming got louder and then the wall actually seemed to move. I hear my dad scream in his usual silly way... "TREMOR!!"

The intensity increased, and just as I was beginning to think how messed up it would be that I would catch an earthquake so accurately, it stopped...

I think I remember this being a somewhat common event in Ecuador, I think so. So people may not know, but just a few years ago an Earthquake made a mess of one of the provinces here, so yeah, the cost to having such beautiful mountains and nature, is the volcanic activity that comes along with it.

Obviously, all good, nothing happened, just a tiny scare... but good reminder, right?

@meno

img src

Sort:  

Holy crap! Well, the earth has been moving a lot in latinamerica lately. There you are, your welcome to a shakier world.
Glad to know everything is ok. Beautiful scenery

oooh fun scarey tho, right? what a picture! i hope you take moar photos, those are sooooo pretty!!!

That’s a memorable meal!! You can forecast earthquakes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 16.91% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59226.71
ETH 2653.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50