ULOG: 6 Ulog+Eulogy

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello fellow Uloggers and Steemians! It has been a rough couple of days for me and that has made it hard on my family too. I want to move past this and keep going on my road.

15396608649284258020813942095602.jpg

My mom passed away yesterday and I didn't think it would get to me the way it has. We had a complex relationship and I figured I wouldn't be so saddened by her passing. I was wrong, it has been tough. It bothers me that I am in Colorado and she is in Connecticut and I wont make it to her service. She told me last week when I called that she didn't want me to use my resources to go out there.

I have to find a way to say goodbye from here then.

My mom was very tough. Only a small step less tough than my grandmother, her mom. She believed that sparing the rod was spoiling the child and she made darn sure we weren't spoiled. This promoted a strength in me that surprises me at times

She fostered my independence as well, much to her chagrin at times. My father left us when I was 10 and pretty much didn't look back. He helped in my feelings of independence too. My mom had to work two jobs after he left, so, I had to learn to cook because my older brother shut down for two years after my mom and dad's divorce.

She worked hard to put a roof over our heads and food in our bellies. She was also a tireless member of the VFW, she cared very much for veterans and always fought for better services for our wounded countrymen and women. She volunteered at the Lions Club as well and was President for a time.

She was not all tough and mean all the time. She had a wonderful and a little twisted sense of humor. She loved to socialize and go to all of the VFW functions.
She was also a great cook and baker and I learned a lot of what I know today from her.

Above all, she loved my brother and I and always tried to do what was right for us.

I hope I did her proud and I strive to make her proud still. Goodbye mom, I love you so much and I know you are still with me.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I am sorry for your loss. Plant a tree in her memory then you have something there to remember her by.

Thats a great idea, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55