ULOG#27 -STROLL THROUGH ST. MARGARET'S VILLAGE

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes when I run I follow all the protocol, that is when I do my hill work, my fartleks, my tempo and my speed work. I work on my form, my foot strike, my cadence. Have a got it right. My mind envisions that next race, that perfect ending, crossing the finish line and that awesome time. In my mind I am nothing more than a star, an elite, always reaching higher, never stopping. I surround myself in all that glory.

Truth is I am a middle-aged recreational runner, who just really loves to run. Not fast, not slow. Just determined, and having fun. For when I run fast or slow the trouble of the world leaves me. My troubles leave me. My world is in order and I can make sense of it. Nothing disturbs my stillness. Just the road and I, left, right, left, right. Nature and I. When I am at a race and I cross that finish line I can be in the middle of the pack or two thirds down the line the feeling of elation is the same. When they put that medal around my neck, the glory is mine and all mine. I did this, I earned this. Time and what sequence I finished in is forgotten. For really what is a runner? Only a runner knows. Only a runner knows the reason, only a runner understands why they endure the heat, the cold, the sweat and the pain. The long steady and often lonely runs. I have run through it all, storms and sleet, bugs, heat exhaustion, with injury, in a downpour and with old man winter biting through my clothes. But still I run. For in that run and every run there is something so deep, so pure it becomes hard to express, unless of course you run.

On this particular day, I brought my phone and thought. I am going to run slow and steady and show the world what I see. The beauty and the solitude. One of my favorite places to run is St. Margaret's Village. I have brought you Steemians here before. Today I just took shots of all the different colors I saw on my run. Please enjoy my ramble through St. Margaret's Village.

I hope you enjoyed what you saw.

Namaste

Sort:  

Lovely images, yet must ask... "fartlets"? 😎

aha lol. stupid as hell of a word. what it means is you run steady for 4K as an example, then real fast burst of speed for 1K, then back to steady ..sorry typo fartlek

The new word of the day. Now to use it three times.... 😎

ya...that would be tough.. lol

Bwa hahhahaa I love that word too...

see lol

Marion , this running post is...wow!!! I identify myself in your feelings description 😂😂😂

Let me ask you something...
Would you like to be our Running Witness for @runningproject? I mean, Maybe you remember that @dailyrunner used to be so till early July or so... I don’t know anything about her since then...she’s not answering at Steem.chat neither at discord so, perhaps you would be interested...
If so, please contact me via discord or Steem.chat and we will talk about

Hello. I am on discord, so I will look for you there and answer your question. Thank you..

I do I find you on discord?

ok. thank you. I just noticed my typo too. lol

No problem.

https://steemit.com/runneroftheweek/@runningproject/vote-your-running-author-of-the-week-the-steem-running-project-season-2-wk1-by-runningproject

This is an example of the weekly post...
Actually, the Running witness will have to write that post and another later on announcing the runner of the week as a consequence of the votes obtained on the first... I think perhaps you remember...
2 post a week... 50% of the liquid earnings of both are going to the Running witness...

I would love to be the witness, however I just need to understand it completely. I think for me it is a wonderful opportunity.

:-)
let's continue at discord then

I think I understand. Once a week I write the post and once a week I write the post of the winner. What day of the week does the first post have to be written and what day of the week do I write the post with the result.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79