ULOG # 25 - ONE HOT AND STICKY RUN

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Every year I say, I am not doing that Cobequid thing. Not again, no not me. It's one hot and sticky run. Most beautiful spot. Every year, just like the one before it is a hot and humid place. Still I go, hoping that by chance, it is less than so....but no.

The Cobequid Trail is an 18-km walking and cycling trail network in Truro, Nova Scotia The trail takes you along a former railway, through Acadian dykelands and farmland, through forests and along brooks, and beside the tidal Salmon River.

What's in a Name?
The word Cobequid comes from the Mi'kmaq word We'kopekwitk which means "end of bay" or "as far as the water will flow". The Truro area is located at the end of Cobequid Bay.

The funnel-shaped Bay of Fundy has a unique tidal phenomenon, with Cobequid Bay and the Salmon River helping to create a spectacular display of rushing water, called a "tidal bore". With the incoming tide, the ocean water moves up the narrow neck of the Bay, flowing against the river current and creating a "wall" of water that makes the river appear to be flowing backwards.

But run I did, in that hot sticky mess with a pretty decent time, despite a lingering sore foot and the humidity.
Happy to report no knee brace. I guess I really can not help myself. After all I love to run and I love the spectacular views from the trail. So different from anywhere else.

Source: Google Image
Source: @marionbowes photography

Sort:  

The trees in Nova Scotia are amazing! Being next to the sea equally so! I guess you're destined to continue this race by the looks of it! Might as well just accept it! LOL do you take a swim in the sea to reset after the humid, sticky hot race?

ha. I wish. The race and run is in Truro. Sort of mid province. That water is brackish and well muddy. Once I got home, yes, dive into the ocean.

You know this one is my favourite!!

Reminds me a little of Blomindon,,,,,damn we need to go there this year!!!!

yes. it has some of the same features, but flater of course..but still pretty. very much so. Yes... it is beautiful in the fall. The water feeds from there, and there is the same red mud and the humidity. Truro and Bible HIll are not really my favorite towns, but the trails and the surrounding areas are quite something to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61