#ulog 26: The Cat & Chicken Days of Summer

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

My Day...

IMG_9986.JPG

We've had a beautiful, dry heatwave this week. At least I didn't find it to be our normal heavy humidity, like we get in the July heat. I also don't know if these are the Dog Days of Summer or not, so I'm naming this period The Cat & Chicken Days of Summer.

fullsizeoutput_3354.jpeg

The chickens certainly aren't amused with the fact that I haven't taken photos of them in so long, they also don't want me to name heat waves after them.

Nice one Lyndsay, the first time you bring your camera here all month, and I'm fucking moulting. I don't even have tail feathers. -Dawn King

IMG_9991.JPG

I just know there is a weak link somewhere in this fencing and then I can finally be freeeeeee again! -Big Buddy

IMG_9990.JPG

Yes, today's visit with the camera to fawn over the beautiful #chickenbitchez was long overdue. My garden will be finishing up soon, and I look very forward to the day that they can be released to live their lives free ranging all over our land. Pecking, scratching, fertilizing and being just plain gorgeous and hilarious to watch.

The Kittens Stretching Out in the Shade

At least they are appreciative that I named this heat wave after them.

IMG_9985.JPG

Batmew

IMG_0012.JPG

Scratcher

IMG_0014.JPG

On second thought I guess only Batmew is impressed. Scratcher looks like...like she wants to scratch me or worse!

Onwards Ambrosias!

I took the boys down swimming today in the morning so that they could catch the high tide. No seaweed skydiving today thank ye. very. much.

IMG_9961.JPG

IMG_9981.JPG

They were still jumping in the same area, I just like it better when there's more water. Notice where the white chair is.

IMG_9982.JPG

It's a little bit better on a Mom's heart than this eh:

fullsizeoutput_3337.jpeg

See where the white chair is at low tide?

Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 11.26.36 PM.png

IMG_9975.JPG

The Boys Knew What To Do To Stay Cool

I couldn't get them out of water. They went from the ocean straight into the rain barrel, they set up another one too so now they don't have to share lol.

IMG_0021.JPG

IMG_0026.JPG

@eddiebowes coming through. I actually had to muscle over one of the barrels earlier because I couldn't fit through the space the boys left. They set them up right at the bottom of the porch stairs pretty much touching. Thanks boys lol. It's all good, I needed the exercise.

IMG_0027.JPG

Ended The Day with A Hard Boiled Egg

IMG_0031.JPG

The love these holders my dear friend @ontheinside got them, though they're not the biggest fan yet of boiled eggs, they keep trying because of the cool toy.

IMG_0032.JPG

@kiedisbowes working at it...

IMG_0033.JPG

IMG_0034.JPG

@alivefoxdeadfox is really getting into it now...

IMG_0035.JPG

Ummmmm...maybe don't be this guy.

That concludes another day in the life of the ol' Homesteading Housewife hehehe, thank you for joining me once again my beautiful #STEEM #ulog Family, I'll see you soon!

Sort:  
Wow definitivamente me encantan tus post, son fascinantes.
Es hermoso ver como le das su puesto a las cosas que "generalmente" no han sido "tan importantes"
Me encanta, te felicito.
Wow I definitely love your post, it's fascinating.
It's beautiful to see you give your post to things that "generally" have not been "so important"
I love it, I congratulate you. @lindsaybowes
Again...
THANK YOU!

Gracias. Me encanta encontrar belleza en lo ordinario @kantos!

No soldiers for dipping in your soft boiled eggs? The sad thing missing from my own soft boiled eggs, since I'm no carb :/

We just got over our 4 day hot dry heat spell. It was close to 90 here at Toad Hall, even on the sea, so I can't imagine what it was like in town. @winstonalden said the city was pretty hot and the trains lost their AC, but he loves the heat.

Today, oh heaven, it's 70's and I have all the windows open and even the crickets are out during they day, everything is so happy for the heat break.

I love the rain barrel swimming! It has a very 'little house on the prairie 21st century' feel to it :)

Oh my kittens...sweet darling kittens...I miss Puss :(

Well, I'll end my #steemitletter here ;)

Yup, we got the same heat wave, I love how similar our climates can be, borders, sheesh, who needs em?!! I'm glad it's cooled down for you now <3

Edgar has been missing now too, for 2 weeks. Hoping she shows her head around here soon!!!

Oh no! I think we are going to have to accept our Puss is gone for good. I haven't officially written about it yet, as I was still hopeful. She was so strong and ever present that I just never thought of her leaving one day and not coming back.

I know it will be a beautiful memorial for Puss, one you have finally processed the pain...

Hahaha, you even have your own name for the heatwave! Your chickens look happy and healthy. Great job Lyndsay!

I think Scratcher wants to do something worse than scratching, lol. These eyes are dangerous!

Wow! This is HUGE difference! How deep is the water at low tide?

How clever! I wondered already how you can only have 1 barrel for 2 little boys. Now they fixed it themselves, lol.

Thank you for sharing another amazing post!

The water is pretty deep in the middle, but where they are belly flopping it is maybe 2 feet. The photo is a bit dramatic, really he's jumping more outwards, than from any height, but what form he has hey?!. He's jumping from a rock that is in the water. The bottom is a soft mud, that to tell you the truth, doesn't smell that great. The boys call it 'butt mud' lolol!!

The second water barrel, yes, how did we not think of it before? It ends all the fights about who's turn is who's :) :) Thanks again for an awesome comment @delishtreats!

Oh, that is a perfect place for boys then! Kids love places that don't smell good and are as muddy as possible 😂

They are so clever to come up with that themselves! You lucky mom! Other parents would have to resolve fights between their kids while your boys fix it for you 😉

My pleasure, my pleasure ❤

The Cat & Chicken Days of Summer. A good way to describe the last heat wave before fall kicks in. It just seems like yesterday that you were planting your garden, now you are talking fall. I like high tide swimming better. They are not giving Mama Castor a heart attack. Cool egg cups. I hope that is Ketchup I see in that egg! I assume these egg cups are for hard-boiled eggs. My kids had just the plain egg cups but we had a handy little gadget that would cut off the top of soft-boiled eggs. Then the guys got to dip toast soldiers into the yolk. I don't know where they went...they got miss placed in our many moves.

The secret to a hard boiled egg is thus. Salt and Pepper and soldiers boys. It just does not work without Soldier Boys. lol

Yeah...hahaha day before payday meal...and...could you believe it but I actually didn't have any buns made, we ran out, I had them rising by the time we were egging it up, but not ready. Next time soldiers for sure!

childhood memories

Two of you now have said "soldiers" for eggs and I have absolutely zero idea what that is supposed to be. XD

ha ha ha ...lol when my children were small one of the ways to get them to eat was to make a game out of things. so too eat a boiled egg we simply cut the toast in strips to dip into the egg and called it a soldier boy. or a grilled cheese, same idea. silly but simple :)))

Ohhhhhhh okay! LOL. I was confused.

@lyndsaybowes, Glad to made Chickens day for them. After long time I see some of #chickenbitches. Well expressions mood of those kittens. Love them so much..... Both kids enjoying always with swim on the sea. Keep smile always boys.

I was thinking of you especially when I was taking the photos and writing about the gals... :) I'm glad you saw this blog @madushanka!

Scratcher. Just being a cat. They always act like they don't care about us. (well, almost always)

And that's why we love them... <3 Sigh...

Espero que esa ola de calor pase muy pronto @lyndsaybowes y como dice el comentario anterior tus publicaciones son muy agradables ya que nos muestras muchas cosas que son muy importantes como por ejemplo lo maravilloso que es compartir en familia y cuidar bien a los animales y especialmente a la naturaleza

Aprecio que nos visites una vez más @franciscana23.

Please mail me Batmew. Thank you.

Hi @lyndsaybowes! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your post is eligible for our upvote! Thanks for your contribution, keep up the good work, and feel free to join our Discord server!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45