#ulog 24: My Sun is Finally Back!

in #ulog6 years ago

8 Weeks Without This Smile...

IMG_9639.JPG

It's the longest @eddiebowes has ever been away from home. His Father, Grandmother and Grandfather all live in Canada's most western province, British Columbia. We used to live a lot closer to them until we moved to Canada's east coast 4 years ago. I feel a lot of empathy for Eddie and his family, in many ways it's not fair that we live so far apart, so of course I said yes when he asked to stay with them for the whole summer this time.

IMG_9638.JPG

He got in late last night, the flight was delayed too. When he and @hendrix22 got in I had his favourite foods waiting for him. Pulled pork sandwiches and banana bread fresh out of the oven. Eddie couldn't believe how big the kittens have grown, and the fact that we still have all 4 LOL!

IMG_9640.JPG

Of course he loved the painting that @donnadavisart created for us, of Eddie's favourite rooster of all time Peter Parker. His exact words were: "It's Beautiful". Most of the photos I took last night were of Eddie and Pete!

An Emotional Night

As happy as he was to get home, it's always hard the first day back, with all of his memories of the great times he had, and no longer being close to his family. There were some tears, as there always is, and bless them. Tears heal! Tears give us the best sleeps. I hope my sons always stay warm hearted and never grow cold, refusing to feel.

Needless to say we had a pretty short visit last night. Before the little guys went to bed they both were saying how much safer they will feel with Eddie back upstairs, I think they had a really good sleep too.

Today

Eddie has football practice tonight (well pretty much every night now, and he missed about 8 while he was gone) so I'm making an early dinner. His other favourite, pasta. I made sure to get some selfies with him and my picking. Basil, tomatoes and apples for the crisp we will have tonight when they get back from football.

Photo on 2018-08-22 at 3.16 PM #2.jpg

Silly Selfie Time

Photo on 2018-08-22 at 3.16 PM #3.jpg

We resemble each other a fair bit eh?

Photo on 2018-08-22 at 3.16 PM #5.jpg

The Crisp

This has been a couple days in the making. Yesterday the boys and I went out on a massive berry picking adventure. Blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and huckleberries. The apples I picked today, nice early apples, super tart and perfect for sugary crisp.

Photo on 2018-08-22 at 3.52 PM.jpg

They were so excited to show Dad their berries, he didn't even get his work boots off first...

IMG_9625.JPG

IMG_9635.JPG

Thank you so much for visiting us once again, beautiful #STEEM #Ulog family! I'm off to put this crisp in the oven and my mouth is just drooling...we'll have it when Eddie and Brendan get home from football, with ice cream!!

Sort:  

Hi @lyndsaybowes! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, computing UserAuthority for all accounts on Steem. Starting from the witnesses, UA propagates from user to user based on its followers until equilibirum is reached. We are currently in test modus upvoting quality contributions with a high UA value (UA_author + UA_post)! Your UA_post value is 40.812.

This is soooo amazing watching this get off the ground, thanks @steem-ua!

Thank you too for the support @lyndsaybowes!

(Cheers, @scipio)

I for one am so glad Eddie Spagetti lives on this Coast. The East Coast. I can appreciate how hard that it is. I actually only see the good and the glory. I only ever met one set of grandparents that lived across the Ocean and I only saw and related to them a handle of times. Eddie has our whole hearts and that of his grandparents on the West Coast. Now what could be better than that. xxxx

I believe it's a good balance <3 <3 <3 He definitely loves life here, and even though I asked him if he would want to move out there, he said no, he loves it here.

yes, it is a good balance, but he has formulated his school life and friends here. That is important for a boy. I think he handles it all quite well and in good stride. So proud of him. He has come such a long way. A fine young man and look forward to many more runs and pizza times with him. We had so much fun at the Bluenose and we will have more. xx

Not many folks can say they run marathons with their Oma! He's got memories for life with all of his awesome grandparents, that is for sure.

There is definitely no denying ownership of that kid! He looks just like you. I am glad he is back home safe. Tears are absolutely one of the most healing substances on the earth! Thanks for sharing.

HAHA, yeah when I was young I had really short hair, and if you compared mine and Ed's photos between age 7 - 10... practically twins!

Thank you for being a man who is unafraid to show emotions. You're a real Wayseer @papacrusher.

shoot, i'll cry right now if you want me too!.....lol

That Eddie Bowes is an outstanding young man!
He has such positive energy, and carries himself well. He has you to thank for that. Sounds like he had a great time and no doubt you're over the moon to have him home

I'm so glad you got to meet him :')

Felicidades @lyndsaybowes por tener otra vez cerca a tu hijo aunque sea pr un corto tiempo tu cara de felicidad es increible y ya comienzas a consentirlo preparandole la comida que más le gusta. Saludos y disfruta de estos momentos únicos en la vida

Gracias por ser feliz por nosotros, eres tan amable @franciscana23!

Translated with Bing Translator https://www.bing.com/translator

Everyone had nice smile and it gives bigger happiness to steem community. Reunion was impressive. Glad to see nice family.

It is so great to finally have my family together again! Thank you for reading @madushanka :)

Hey @lyndsaybowes so glad to be back! And so glad to see you have your eldest ray of sun back in his home :) Those berries look amazing as well and I bet those tarts will taste divine! Much love my friend!

You're baaaaaaaaaaack! YASSSS!! I noticed hehehe...cannot wait to get all caught up and of course have your latest piece ready to devour with my morning coffee ... it's massssive!! <3 <3 <3 I'll be talking with you about it soon!

Hey @lyndsaybowes just noticed you resteemed my post .. thank you so much, I really appreciate it :D

Wow, Eddie really does look like you! I love all those berries and that you can go out and pick them! The berries I know of that nobody seems to pick here, I don't know if they're sprayed with pesticides or not (they're part of an apartment building's landscaping) and they are a narrow sidewalk away from one of the busiest streets in the state. Even the birds and squirrels don't eat them ...I'm not sure if I should either, then! I trust the wild things' judgement. 😉

Oooh wow...yeah I might stay away from them if the animals won't even eat them, do you know what kind of berries they are?

I think they are elderberries.

An awesome homecoming! I know what it is like to have sons living far away and it leaves a hole in your heart because you just miss them so much. I knew he would love the painting of Peter Parker. He looks just like you! He has grown since he was away. Tears are healing. May he never grow up into someone who is afraid to show them.

We resemble each other a fair bit eh?

Oh dear goodness...yes! Definitely, no mix-ups at the hospital with this one...lol.

Beautiful family!

Best regards.

Peace.

Hello @spiritualmatters, so great to see you! No hospital baby switching indeed hahaha! Thank you for the positive vibrations <3 <3 <3 I hope you are doing well :)

✌!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34