#ulog 19: Pheasants, Kittens, Sticky Weather and a Glorious Moon

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8826.JPG

I'll start you off with something cute: Mini Mewy. He is the Mini Me of Edgar.

IMG_8825.JPG

And moving right along to something not so cute. My hair in this humidity! Bwa hahhaha. There ain't no straightening iron that can fix this for longer than 15 minutes. Not complaining though because #fuckwinter.

Photo on 2018-07-23 at 12.22 PM #6.jpg

My Version of the #FirstWorldProblems Meme Lady:

Photo on 2018-07-23 at 12.22 PM #7.jpg

And my #firstworldproblems don't end there folks. Try as I may I can never get good photos at night. I don't use a flash because I think it looks hideous, but maybe I need a tripod or something to keep the camera super stable?

IMG_8851.JPG

Ain't she a beauty out there though, even if it's a bit blurry?

IMG_8852.JPG

It's one of those nights where the rooster starts crowing before midnight, everything is so illuminated.

IMG_8855.JPG

There, that last one is pretty clear. I must have been holding in my breath when I took it :)

The Pheasant Story

I was blessed today with a visit from a male pheasant and a couple of baby pheasants. I'm sure the mother and more babies were around somewhere but I couldn't see them. I managed to get a couple of photos before they got too creeped out by me and fled.

IMG_8811.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 11.55.26 PM.png

IMG_8817.JPG

Such little cuties...

IMG_8818.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-07-25 at 1.12.49 AM.png

Later I flukily got another glimpse of the adult. He was crossing the road, and thankfully made it to the other side okay.

IMG_8842.JPG

No tail feathers though, maybe he's moulting? Or prepubescent?

Screen Shot 2018-07-25 at 1.16.32 AM.png

IMG_8843.JPG

I thank you once again #STEEM #ulog Fam for witnessing these moments from my life out here in Nova Scotia, Canada, I hope you're having a good day/evening wherever you are! Until next time, Keep on Steemin!

Sort:  

Awww..... Cute cat sister, grown so big within such a short time. And your nature pics are so awesome. I would definitely love to use them. Love you xo

Thank you so much sister. I appreciate this so much.

hey..you and your cat both are so cute..and all photography so charming..dear..Thanks for sharing with.us..

oh don't you just love it all. I love them, we see them here often. The pet deer comes almost everyday. We have ourselves a zoo of a sort. Such wonders. The blue jays are just a hoot and sit on the railing and scold us when the feeder is empty. lol. love your pics lady as always.

Our deer around here never stick around, they're always just passing through so quickly I hardly have a chance to get my camera out, but there is a bright side to that, they never stay to feast on our garden!

Love the photos. All of them. The moon is so bright its hard to sleep. Feels like we should be up movin and a groovin.daytime instead if night time.

Looks like the animals run your land almost as much as you do!

I definitely feel blessed to be around wildlife... <3

Much. much better than looking at the frozen bay. :-)

Yes, let's forget those terrible times...

😻 Aww, Mini Mewy. Try exhaling while you take the photo? I do that and it helps, but I don't have a zoom lens. 😂 I wonder what causes some hair to curl in humidity like that? One of my oldest friend's hair does that, too. I love your #FWP pose, lol. Cool pheasants! I wouldn't have known about tail feathers or lack thereof.

I will definitely try your trick with the exhalation, thank you PHE!

As soon as any water gets on my hair it goes curly, so with the humidity it's just a curly good time hahaha :) It's not even really curly anymore, not like when I was younger, it's I guess more kinky than anything now lol :)

I'm glad you approve of the name Mini Mewy, it's kinda sticking, and him and Edgar are getting more in common every day.

Here's what the pheasants I normally see look like:

Screen Shot 2018-07-25 at 4.08.16 PM.png

Image Source

Oh wow, look at those tail feathers! That would be magick to find a shed one. 😮

Aww! Mini Mewy is so dang cute! Are you keeping him? You aren't the only one with hair problems on humid days. I had been trying to let mine grow again, but damn, the fuzz is killing me! You have indeed been blessed by the visit from the pheasants. Only once have I seen them in the wild so to speak. Making lunch for the kids and I heard this weird noise coming from the backyard. Both labs (supposed to be bird dogs) were lying on the porch looking down the lane. There was a flock of 17 pheasants sauntering down towards the road! So very unusual and the dogs didn't even bark!

Oooh wow that is truly strange that the dogs didn't give chase! But 17 of them...holy mackerel...maybe the dogs were scared...!

Could be! I don't really know why but it was awesome!

Wow! Such a cute little cat. He is just the beauty :). Lindsay, I'm amused by your hair, but only because I'm in a similar situation. Now I look just like that.ha ha. But we have to accept it because there's nothing we can do. I tried everything : ( .

Aww hahaha, I'm sorry that you can empathize with me, I wouldn't wish this hair on anyone hahahaha :) You are right, we have a lot in common, not just our natural surroundings. Maybe we need to get hats! But I hate hats...

ha ha, I don't like hats either, I don't know how to wear them :( . Once I even decided to cut long hair and leave 5 centimeters. Do you know what I looked like when the weather got wet? Correct! I became like a sheep :). So I wear longer hair. I just twist them in a tight bun during wet weather

Yes hahahaa, I have had that same haircut before...I called it A Poodle do when the humidity hit. Oooh never again will I ever cut my hair so short.

Nice to definitively know why a pheasant may cross the road. You up for some chicken testing? 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79