#ulog 15: A Poppy & Heron Kind of Day

in #ulog6 years ago

Things Are Really Happening Now

IMG_8560.JPG

I love gardening because it's teaching me patience, something I've never had much of in life. Gardeners wait all year for a single moment with each of our plants. Whether it be blooming or yielding fruit, we know how to wait.
There is no other choice but to wait.

IMG_8574.JPG

There is progress and growth every day, but you never know just how it will turn out until it blooms, I'm super stoked with the result. Pretties!! Free pretties haha. I didn't buy a single seed this year. Everything I planted was from seeds I had saved, and what seeded itself naturally.

From Inside

IMG_8567.JPG

That's what I see out the front windows. I feel so happy watching those bright red flowers floating lazily in the wind.

IMG_8558.JPG

None of my photos are edited, that's really how red those babies are! I'm so tickled, can't ya tell?

IMG_8565.JPG

Some smaller cosmos flowering now too.

And now, I present his majesty, Mr. Heron

fullsizeoutput_3135.jpeg

Everyone has seen the Heron this year except me haha, I was beginning to feel snubbed by my most favourite summertime friend. Well today made up for it and then some.

IMG_8536.JPG

The boys and I were at our next door neighbour's place swimming, and there he was, his majesty Mr. Heron, patient as ever (ehhhhh we're getting a theme for this day), waiting for the right opportunity to strike.

IMG_8534.JPG

In the hour I watched him for I only saw him strike once for a fish. The rest of the time he was just standing. I felt the utmost state of relaxation witnessing this...BEing.

fullsizeoutput_3136.jpeg

I Took a Short Video


(1:31)

Thank you for coming along with me on another day in paradise, Hacketts Cove, Nova Scotia, Canada. Until next time, keep #STEEMin and start #Ulogging!

Sort:  

It's almost as if we live next door, I know I've said that before, but your view and even your herons.

We're lucky that our quanitity of herons seems to increase each year. I'm not sure if it's that the babies from one Summer simply returns with it's parents the next or not but we have about three pair now that I have been watching feed. It's really lucky when the tide, weather, and fish population combine out front on our beach because then I get a front row seat to their antics. And they seem to happily fish with our snowy egrets without too much inter fighting.

They seem to ignore the terns as well, which dive bomb and make a racuous whilst the herons and egrets are so calm and quiet moving through the water to fish.

I love poppies! They are definitely a gift that gives and gives. However if ever want to control the colour in an area, poppies remind you that Nature decides the gardens colour themes. I have some yellow poppies I have out front in my mostly yellow/blue/purple borders, but reds pop up where they like and I simply smile and think, Well at least Nature is my undergardener. More like I'm the undergardener to nature, I mean I have to do all the weeding, feeding and daily watering :)

Yes, the patience from gardening is probably one of the best gifts and skills I have learned that benefit me in all of Life. The patience of seed in february to fruit in July is indeed patience but also magic and joy.

It looks like you are enjoying your summer. I used your #ulog post tag but not sure if it is meant to be pictures or video so I did both to make sure :) Say hello to your MIL for me, I feel I am hopelessly behind in all posts!

Wow, I would love to see the yellow poppies...and I love the story about the rogue reds :)

We're all so blessed to live immersed in nature, it sounds like you have a lot more herons than us yet I'm still happy with the couple we get to see.

No worries about being 'behind', there's no such thing! I'm just glad you're continuing to post even a little. Enjoy the Summer ! :) :) Very good to see you Donna and I will pass on your message to @marionbowes :)

a majestic bird!;)

and you're right - gardening is patience itself, we really work hard just to see short time of beauty or to gather the harvest.
And it's some kind of yoga, do you agree?
It brings peace to the mind, harmony and unity with nature and its energy

Absolutely, especially tasks like weeding remind me of yoga and meditation...it's so easy to zone out doing menial tasks, while having our hands in the soil ...

As always @lyndsaybowes I'm loving the way your camera brings out the colours and doesn't the Heron look majestic! .. amazing, I'll be revisiting these images to see me through the winter lol .. I finally have a couple of days (away from work and packing) when I can go wild camping so watch this space :)

I will be watching and waiting indeed @perceptualflaws! I can't wait to see where you guys get to...

Your flowers are beautiful. I love the poppies to. That is an awesome accomplishment that you didn't have to buy any seeds and used seeds from last year that's really cool. Dedication

Thanks a lot for the encouraging words Beth, saving seeds is so much easier than I ever would have thought! If I can do it anyone can!

a delightful garden

Don't you just love the patience of all hunting animals. That Herron is very majestic sat on his throne biding his time but not so much fun in the winter I would think.... Do they migrate?
Is there a market for Opium in Nova Scotia. Next years crop could be huge lol 👍❤

Typically in Nova Scotia they do not migrate, as the marshes and coastal waters in the South Shore do not freeze. Most Herron that are migratory do so in areas where water freezes..Even the ones we often saw at my parents home or at my in laws summer home in Northern Ontario.

Tell you what they used to do in Romania. Put the poppy seeds in a handkerchef and suck the hell out of it like a lollypop. puts ya to sleep. lol

Interesting fact thank you😁

I should become a gardener then as I'm pretty much missing patience 🤣 What a superstar Mr. Heron is! I woud be ecstatic if I would finally see him after everybody else did already!
I really enjoy your posts Lyndsay! Thank you for sharing!

Yes, plant a seed and watch your patience grow!

@lyndsaybowes, The maquis are amazing. I love this kind of red lights on the green field. I envy you . I don't have any poppies in my district. I don't understand why they disappeared :(. Very beautiful photos.

Aww, you're going to have to do some guerrilla gardening and seed bombing to bring the poppies back! Really good to see you Madlen!

The pleasure is mine, @lyndsaybowes :)
Now I have to find these poppy seeds boxes, heh.

Such a beautiful garden and lovely pictures @lyndsaybowes. This is the best time of the year.

Very beautiful photos
and videos liked, @lyndsaybowes
it was very interesting to watch this bird!

Best wishes from @singa

Thanks for visiting @singa, and best wishes right back to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97