So you're all grown up now.

in #ulog6 years ago

81ac8adda718fbc830442dba33e24a34.jpg

Do you remember when you were thirteen? Probably not, But I do. I wanted so much, to grow up. I didn't want to be told what to do, by my parents, or anyone at that. I wanted to be called a big boy, wear long trousers, and wanted to cut my hair in the latest crazy style.

How about sixteen? Such a cool period of our lives. I wanted to become an adult overnight. Wanted to drink legally, couldn't wait to leave home and get my own apartment. I fantasized about getting with a girl and probably having a kid with her, getting a real nice job, and coming home to the kids, Be called Daddy. I actually wanted to take care of people.

Well, being Adult sucks. Most of the times, I want to go back to being seventeen. I want to go back to when life was simple. It was easier during the lunch box days, Back to the time when everyone believed in me. When you didn't have to worry about anything, maybe except being on the football team, and dating the girl on the cheer leading squad. I wish someone had told me then, to take my time and breathe.

Adulthood is here now, and I'm now craving all the things I wanted to leave behind. I call my parents and seek their advice, now I gotta dress responsibly, my haircut has to show that I'm not a thug. Trousers? I hate those things, I wish I could wear shorts to work, even. I gotta think of my health, whilst taking those beers. I get tired of my apartment, and I go to my parent's house. I gotta worry about everything, from Jobs, to relationships, to paying bills. Being an Adult is fun, we can stay out partying all night, but we gotta take care of ourselves.

That's the thing, you gotta take care of yourself. You're the captain now, if you're sick, who's gonna take care of the ship? There is no one else to do it for you, It's just you. No one is gonna stand behind you anymore and make sure you've brushed before you go to bed, or check that your nails are cut clean and well manicured. You're a grown-up now, and on your own. Fantastic. But It means you have all the responsibility too. You gotta know how to eat well, sleep well, relax a lot, take exercise, and generally take care of yourself.

Lucent Britex.

Sort:  

Adulthood is indeed very stressful and demanding. At times we care too much about too many things including things that are not relevant but because others see it to be good to them, we at times want to border ourselves with it.

I wish I can get back to when I cared about nothing and yet I was comfortable but that is not possible because life is in phases and always goes forward and not backwards, we have to bear it because it's our turn to be at this stage of life.

Thank you @lucentbritex for sharing.

. At times we care too much about too many things including things that are not relevant

Yeah, exactly. We forget about what matters and what does not.

Nice post @lucentbritex. I can still remember when I was thirteen like yesterday! It was nice not having to worry about anything. I wish I could be a teenager again and go back to those days.

That feeling never gets old.

It never does lol. :D

Nice one@lucenbritex, you just took me down to the memory lane of my childhood days where the only thing i worried about was not getting enough sleep, because i would be woken so early to prepare for school.
Those times i played so much but now nobody has such time for you.
Now i worry and struggle just to meet up with enigma of life.

These days, we choose to stay awake, because you can't achieve much on a bed.

That's how it's brother, if you ask an old man, if he feels like going back to his young. He would definitely want it.

A young boys or girls will be dreaming of becoming an adult, likewise adult will be like going back to his or her early teen's.

Thanks for sharing @lucentbritex

I was the same. We always want what we can't have. The curse and the gift of the human brain is the permanent need.

Excellent post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46