Ulog # 1: In Awe of The Sky, A Sky-lover's Anecdote of Sunsets at Dapitan and Dipolog

in #ulog6 years ago

"All the words I will ever write cannot equal the beauty of nature's wordless poetry."

These are words that came to me one day as I gaped at an awe-inspiring sunset; I do not say that lightly or jokingly, I actually, honestly really GAPE OPEN-MOUTHED at sunsets and sunrises and moonlights and stars, even pretty blue skies. I stand there transfixed as the sky's kaleidoscope unveils itself, as shades of orange and purple and pink and dark gray all transform the sky into a glorious canvass.

All the pictures I will include below are ones I have taken (and gaped at like a total idiot) on a recent trip to Dipolog and Dapitan, Philippines (you know, the one where our National Hero was exiled at). I was wearing a dress and a tight-fitting pants on each day, otherwise, I would've cartwheeled as a way to celebrate and thank nature for her beauty.

It was already nearly six pm and I was having an awful day then because I just vomited as a result of my period pains (so yeah, I was really in a foul mood then). We just came from Punong (a floating restaurant) and were told there were no vacancies at that moment. We were starving already so that news wasn't very welcome and everyone was a bit cranky. When the van moved forward, we were greeted by the following view, and I shit you not, I totally jumped out of the front seat while the van was still moving just because it was so pretty and I couldn't wait any longer. Almost everyone also got out of the van to take a better look (because, do you see that? That's pretty, that's majestic, one doesn't just sit in mediocrity inside a vehicle while nature is out in full colors).

The one above was already a pretty cool view but when the van moved forward I was able to capture the following (my heart seemed pretty ready to burst at that moment because it was so, so beautiful. These were moments of absolute beauty that make me think that maybe life does make sense because the sunset and it's beauty.

We were schedule to go to Gloria's Fantasyland, so we chose to have dinner at a restaurant next to it. Incidentally, said restaurant was facing the sea and voila! Another awesome sunset pic (that's my silhouette ruining the frame, sorry).

By the time the sky darkened fully and the last bit of the sunset's colors had died, I was once again reminded of nature's amazing wordless poetry. Such that if I had died then and there, it would have been okay with me because that was one of the prettiest sunsets I have ever seen. Actually, that was also the first time I would meet my girlfriend in person so umm, scratch the dying, I wanted to start living. But, you get my point, sunsets are just so awesome I'd gladly die for them.

The next day, we were scheduled to go to Dipolog which is just next to Dapitan. Technically, it was just a stopover for lunch because my companions had to go somewhere. I stubbornly refused to go with them because I wanted to spend more time with my love.

At the end of the day, she brought me to the Boulevard, where I got to witness another view of the sun setting majestically.

Also, I'll just share this picture because it amuses me, look at these guys, they look like they're about to shoot a music video for "Hayaan Mo Sila".

So, in terms of sunsets, I would rate Dipolog and Dapitan as 10/10. If you ever get around there for whatever reason (there's Dakak, Dr. Jose P. Rizal's place, Gloria's Fantasyland, among others), stay for the sunset, it'll totally be worth it.

PS: I mean, I could be biased because that's where my love comes from, but but, you've seen the pictures and they speak for themselves.

Also, this is the first time I'm making an Ulog. I hope I used it in the correct context, and if not, I am very open to corrections and suggestions. Alright, that's all. Aja! returns gaze at sunset and smiles like an absolute idiot

Sort:  

Oh oh. (hyperventilates but tries to calm self down). This is so awesome, thank youuuuuu! ❤️

wow, congrats @lostinmustypage ^_^ steemitdavao family, are so proud of you.

Thank youuuuuu, @mrblu. For introducing me to steemit and for your guidance and support. You’re awesome. 🎉😊

Sunset is all about my favorite scene too. . when observing a sunset or the sunrise I feel a cool happiness and dear @lostinmustypages you Shared beautiful and heart touching photos.. It is also my hobby to wait and observe and enjoy sunrise and sunset scenes.

Hi! It's nice to meet people who are also in love with the sky. Seriously, when the sky is showing off I just wanna go shake other people and make them look at the sky too.

i love your post. keep it up

Bonjour! Thank you, will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29