Birthday Post

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

DSC_9178 (2).jpg

So I added a new year to my very young age yesterday. It was just another day as usual for me. Now I do not mean to play down on the hype a lot of people attach to their birthdays, but for me, all that hype is just very sentimental-ish.

Come to think of it, everything that can be done on your birthday can be done any other day, such activities include:

  • Stupendous cake eating
  • Getting plenty hugs
  • Spending money without wisdom
  • Getting love texts
  • Feeling loved
  • Great sex
  • Eating expensive well-prepared food
  • Drinking really cool and pocket shattering wines

The list is endless

LET ME TELL YOU THE STORY OF MY BIRTHDAY

Now, a day to my birthday I was still recovering from Chicken-pox which chose to almost disfigure my entire face and perfectly crafted skin.

Gladly I found a way to keep this naso myself, and since I lived alone, I knew I would be able to keep it a secret and eventually get better and act like nothing happened.

I took the time to properly clean up my house and put somethings in order, didn't want any dirty or negative vibes on the eve of my birthday.

IT ALL STARTED TO GO SOUTH

I did all of the clean-up, then I got some petrol for my generator just in case the power goes out that night. I wanted to stay up late and see who calls me first, lol, little did I know there was a meeting being scheduled that would alter the plans for that night.

I left home that evening and headed for a meeting with my DAD in a part of town that was quite a distance. Now I am a professional pianist and I tend to follow DAD to places where he is meant to minister. That very day we finished what we were to go there at about 9 pm GMT+1, and headed back to our side of town, that was when the call came in that I had to go for a strategic meeting that was scheduled to start in an hours time. I couldn't even get home because my house was quite a distance from the meeting venue and I couldn't afford to miss that meeting because of the role I played.

So I got to church, where I was going to be planning for an event and also writing and teaching new songs to our A-team, birthday eve lost all its blast at that point. At exactly 12 AM on the 26th of September, the lady moderating the first section of the meeting started to sing a happy birthday song to me. It was lovely, though I acted indifferently.

The all-night meeting lasted till about 3 AM that morning, then most took their positions to rest their dreamy skulls, I, however, played watchman. I really do find it hard to close my eyes after a vigil, I rather let the promises of my bed keep me awake and stop me from committing adultery with the chairs or the floor at the venue of whatever vigil it is. If you are going to cheat then it better be worth it, and my bed is a five-star hotel compared to any chair or rugged floor.

While in the meeting that night/early morning, I got a few calls I didn't answer simply because my turn soon came to teach the choir and I felt it was disrespectful to take calls when these men and women left the comfort of their beds to listen to me.

As soon as it was 5:30 AM GMT +1, I left the church and headed for my bed. Soon as I unlocked the door to my room, I flung my clothes somewhere and dived my bed, but my family and friends had already planned to put speed bumps in my sleep.

I was disturbed ever minute by a call by someone I know or maybe a total stranger. They all had one thing in common though, they all sang HAPPY BIRTHDAY with frog voices; at least that was how it sounded in my ear.

At about 9 AM when I eventually decided I was doing more harm to my pillow than helping myself I decided to get up and get going to the petrol station to get more petrol. It was going to be along day.

Soon as I got back from the petrol station I had a quickie in the name of a breakfast.

Toasted bread with eggs and some biscuits

Then I heard gunshots, there was a shootout just outside my gate between the police and some community boys. I really laughed and ensured the security guys locked my gate.

I went online to drop some pictures of myself which eventually circulated on various social media around the world. That sure made me happy, seeing my face on status updates of people that I didn't even know were secretly watching, as well as those that really mattered to me.

At about 1:30 PM I got bored with the internet and decided to see some movies. This kept me occupied until about 4 pm when I left for church.

There was a little traffic but I eventually made it. I alighted the taxi just a few blocks to church and entered the supermart to get a few toiletries, then I crossed the road and headed into the church where some of our church staffs were excitedly singing me a birthday song.

I eventually escaped church because I was really famished and I needed to eat. Soon as I was done eating I took the time to get back to the internet and surf a bit before the evening service started. I must not fail to tell you though that I dressed like any other normal day.

MY LOVELY PRETTY ASSISTANT

This young woman whose birthday was a day to mine had planned with some of my choir executives to get me a cake, wine, and some drinks, with which the ambushed me after church service.

THAT WAS HOW I GOT MY BIRTHDAY PARTY ALAS

+ After the celebration was over we all went home, then I took some more calls and lived happily ever after.

Sort:  

Sorry I missed this... happy birthday!


Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71