Reflection/Thoughts: Anne Frank’s Diary

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

12239B7E-D6E6-4107-B203-5F0F63889361.jpeg

REFLECTION ON ANNE FRANK’s Diary


I do think that HISTORY is an important subject that we should all know and understand. It is a way to comprehend more about our culture and the changes that’s made through time.

The HOLOCAUST was one of the greatest horror experienced by humanity.
I’ve always loved to read the people involved or related to the History of the Nazi and autobiographies of how they survived and gained the will and courage to fight against the devastating war. I’ve read lots of autobiographies and one of my favorite was Anne Frank’s Diary. I was amazed by how she handled issues and emotional problems during her stay at the Secret Annex. She was matured for a teenage girl and I admired her bravery to speak her mind.

These are my favortie quotes that Anne Frank wrote in her diary:

  • 1A7A17EE-7183-4DD3-A4E9-EB8A0382CD8F.jpeg
  • C3349F25-1C23-401C-9A92-8A1611717B6B.jpeg
  • D6D89417-A438-4435-BE88-F49787C66B63.jpeg
  • D72A7502-8D1F-4187-B382-679F528488A7.jpeg
  • 2130C0F2-8C6C-427F-88E1-EAD6E8396346.jpeg
  • C999C820-54E0-433E-9447-12AA2109A57D.jpeg
  • 48901D98-36A8-40FE-88DD-BD2B7BDF54C9.jpeg
  • E2765CA0-0241-41E6-AC69-19AD4610B5EE.jpeg
  • 23D700FD-E28F-4E12-A496-1099286D1F92.jpeg
  • C63175FE-2AA2-4CC4-A9C3-9DB5871B3423.jpeg
  • 2AC4D3BF-9A63-482B-AAEB-598E402F9E9F.jpeg
    PHOTO SOURCE: INSTAGRAM

1. Our Voices are Meant to be Heard

  • I’ve read the whole diary and I was impressed of the young lady’s mindset especially of how she balanced and understood the situation at such a young age. It was arduous going into hiding from the Nazis and had to sacrificed their normal way of living. Not to mention they had to get along with some folks who had unpleasant personalities and behaviors at the Secret Annex.

  • I consider Anne Frank as a strong woman who’s not afraid to speak her mind and be herself. Her way of thinking was not ordinary but she matured earlier than me when I was her age. She knew that the people would need to hear the truth someday and made use a diary for a tool to let her voice be heard. Undeniably, she touched the deepest parts of my heart as I read the words coming out from her mind, heart, and soul. She wanted others to understand the value of their voices that it’s not meant to be zipped but to be heard.

2. Making a Difference

  • As a student, I’ve been assigned as a leader for groupworks and I’ve observed that the members does exactly what the leader would say especially when changes occur and when change needs to be done. Anne Frank was right when she said that we didn’t need to wait for change to happen or to be ordered by our superiors, but change should start within ourselves. This statement gave me an insight that whether we are young, old, a leader, or a member, we are capable of making a difference and be responsible of our own choices.

3. Having Our Own Opinions/Not Looking Down On Ourselves

  • I’ve always been the type of person who doesn’t really share my thoughts and opinions to other people especially when I think that it would contradict to their point of view and would just shut me off. I did not want to be misjudged by others for thinking differently from ther perspective but after reading Anne’s diary, I slowly changed and wanted my opinions to be heard. I’ve often had rejections in sharing my opinions and had experienced numerous times to be silenced but my thought and opinions will matter despite all the objections.

  • Just because having a different opinion or mindset from others does not mean that you are less than them. It means that you are special and your thoughts are not over ruled by those who thinks they are in power.

    Opinions and thoughts that would contribute positively and not create destruction towards fellowmen.

4. The Priceless Presence of Blank Pages

  • This is absolutely TRUE! For me, I enjoy the presence of blank pages. It listens to my cries and screeches. The wonderful thing about paper is that no matter how much pain your pen stroke gives it does not judge you but comforts you in a way no one can comprehend and eases the hurt and wounds of the heart. I consider these blank pages as priceless things.

  • I wrote a short poem about papers here it is:

    On these blank pages I find my comfort,
    It listens to my cries and screeches,
    They might think its funny and worthless,
    But to me blank pages has always been priceless.

5. Where is Happiness?

  • I’ve always asked this question, where to find happiness and how to gain happiness. I’ve been looking for this destination for such a long time but can’t seem to find the right path. I thought that walking and following the world’s way of being happy was enough but it wasn’t, it was meaningless! As a Christian, I have found that overflowing joy and a peace that surpasses all sorrows. I found the joy through my Saviour, Jesus Christ. Despite every adversity that comes my way, He never fails clothe me with peace and joy.

6. Regrets

  • This is sadly true, we only see and realize the beauty and value of someone when he/she is subject to eternal sleep. Well, it’s about time to be grateful for the people who supports and loves us. Remind them how they colored our lives and appreciate them for guiding us to our life journey. It’s never too late to thank those who are around you and treat them the way the should be treated. Encourage them to continue the race and get up when life’s trying to pull you down.

7. Thousands of Thoughts but Few Words

Yes, I am a person who thinks a lot but can’t even get my words out of my mind. I do think that sometimes keeping your thoughts for yourself is a good thing in some way. I usually get confused by my thoughts when I’m angry or in confusion. The reason for my silence is to avoid hurting others with my words. I believe that words hurt more than actions and it could fire up a whole forest with just a single statement.

Yes, our voices are meant to be heard but it does not mean that we should use our voice to provoke others and give them an uneasy feeling that would tear them apart but words that would build them up to become a better version of themselves.

8. Growing and Decisiveness

  • I’ve been told that a child’s first learning center is his/her household. As children, we also have instructors and teachers that would be a great influence to us in behavior and would guide us towards straight paths. Although, we are properly trained it is also our decision to grow and build up our character. It’s not the people around us who’ll decide what character we want to build up. Life is full of choices and being decisive lies in our hands.

9. The Joy Behind the Sorrow

  • There are times when I breakdown and get anxiety attacks but what made me move on in life is seeing the beauty out of this world full of chaos. I believe that having a positive outlook in life helps us to keep moving forward and just reach for our goals without looking back and avoid negativites that comes my our way.

10. Healing

  • I’ve decided to create and composed my travel blogs as a written content that my fellow steemians and friends would relate and feel the experience that I felt through those travels. I’ve always mentioned in my travel blogs that I needed healing and be set apart from the chaotic world and my room built up of frustrations. After realizing that the purpose of my travels was not to just a meer visit but a healing process. I, then, understood what Anne Frank said about the sun and skies that gave her hope and joy. I am amazed of how I am relating to her stories and how it also became true to me. Travelling is my way to ease the pain and heal the wounds of whole being. Seeing the creations of my Great Creator made me realize how Sovereign and Powerful my God is and that gave me a peace the surpasses all understanding.

11. It’s the Inside that Counts

  • What I’ve learned from this quote is that we are all great judges to someone we dislike and despise, but we are also great attornies who defends our egos and pride. I’ve been practicing on looking at the good side of a person, cause like Anne Frank, I also think that they have the basic goodness inside them. And it’s hard to humble yourselves in front of people who thinks they are superior than anyone. But having a positive mindset towards others always helped me fight the selfishness inside me.

Who are the Nazi’s in My Life?

  • The greatest Nazi of my life is none other else than myself. I’m not really sure if others are experiencing war within them but I have and it’s hard to win. I’ve been experiencing unpleasant thoughts that would visit my messed up mind every once in a while. It’s hard to be transparent of the pain that I wish to hide but I am trying my best to win this battle. Every now and then, I would remind myself the Three A’s of my life: Acknowledge, Acceptance, and Do not Associate. It has kept me going all these years and has given me the courage to fight and get up. But what made me stronger is the my FATHER from above. He knows that I need His daily supply of grace and he never hesitates to overflow me with love and mercy. I am truly grateful!

Somehow, I could relate to Anne Frank’s life and these are her words that also spoke to me and gave me the courage to continue and be heard. I hope that you too would be able to read this young girls’ diary and overcome every obstacle in life and also never lose faith in the Creator.

Sort:  

what a beautiful book. I remember when I visited the house.... it so shocking! thank you for the post

I envy you :) Thanks anyway!

Hi @kayegrasya! Amazing work done! Your post has been upvoted (at 100%) and is currently featured on bayanihan's Daily Feature of Posts and Authors! Feel free to click the link here.

https://steemit.com/philippines/@bayanihan/the-spirit-of-communal-unity-bayanihan-22nd-philippines-curation-updates

thank you so much!

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @bitrocker2020, @zord189, @aaronleang, & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Thank you so much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kayegrasya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41