Ulog: Camping in Paradise

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I went on an adventure this past week!!!

Well, me and the family. Camping with twin four-year-olds is busy, I tell you, but it was good to unplug, and fabulous to spend time by the lake.

guitar by the lake

Sadly, I only got my guitar out to play once, but what an epic spot. How did six days go by so fast? This was our view from the campsite. Can’t beat that, eh?

line

I haven’t done a blog post in over a week, so I figure a catch-up Ulog is in order.


Where did we go?

Well, we packed up the tent trailer (OMG so much stuff), strapped the paddle boards on top, loaded up the 4Runner and drove seven-plus hours. We went on a ferry, across a lake, and into the Kootenay Mountains.

tent trailer

We spent the first night at one of our favourite spots. It’s secret, so I can’t tell you the name of the place, but every time I get to go there it’s magical.


The Secret Spot.


view from the top

Our secret spot is along Slocan Lake, which is a super deep body of water. In fact, there might be a prehistoric creature or two living here.

According to tales from one local, there used to be two scuba diving companies operating by this lake. They both packed up on the same day and left… never came back. Saw something under the water that freaked them right out, I guess. There are underground tunnels, and this lake is so deep it doesn’t freeze in the winter, so I guess anything is possible.

Regardless, I love swimming in this lake, just nice and close to shore. It was still in shadow when we hiked down the mountain to the water, but the kids kept warm climbing rocks and playing.

kids

kids

Then the sun came over the ridge, and I scoped out a spot for myself.

The water is so clear here.

water

The rocks soaked up the sun, but there was a crisp wind. Still, I wouldn’t miss a chance to get into this lake. Bathing in wild water, especially this water, is good for the soul.

After my dip, I sat on the rock for a while, admiring the view.

looking out

This region of British Columbia, Canada, is so beautiful. The Valhalla Provincial Park is pictured below, and you can’t see the most impressive of the peaks in this picture, but you get a sense of the grandeur, at least.

valhallas

Unfortunately, there’s a forest fire on this ridge below. Hopefully they get more rain and no lightning. Wildfires are pretty normal in BC in the summer, but the last couple years they’ve been worse than usual.

fire

Gratefully, the smoke wasn’t bad while we were camping.

We packed up again, got on the road, and went to our destination, The Whistle Stop Campground outside of Nelson, BC.


Camping on Kootenay Lake.


You cannot beat this view.

campground

This is Kootenay Lake, now. And Nelson is this amazing town known for a high percentage of hippies and creative types. They serve organic tacos at the concession stand in the park, just to give you an idea. There are so many schools here—people move here to raise kids. People are strange here, but a lot of that is a very good thing.

There’s art everywhere, too. I loved this sculpture.

sculpture

This dancer towers above a hillside park. Everything in Nelson is on a hill. Steep hills, too. Some of the roads are so steep they make me nervous.

At the top of the little hillside park was this bright, colourful osprey, and the words, “Soar stoic as an osprey.”

osprey

Yes, there are two older Subarus parked above that bird. Typical Nelson.

Here it is cropped, and the saying below:

osprey

soar stoic

Love that. It really gets me for some reason.

Anyway, we had a whirlwind trip, with some paddle boarding and lots of driving around.


Sleep?


I didn’t sleep that great, because mommy hearing means I wake up at every little noise, and there are more noises when in a campground in a tent trailer. Though I must say looking up at the stars in the middle of the night when I woke up to pee was sorta nice. So quiet, so many stars, so not awake, yet totally awake at the same time.

It stormed the last night, with rain and enough wind that we had to readjust the awning so it didn’t fling up into the air. That was the kicker, worrying about having to pack the tent trailer up in the rain. It dried out though, with the sun and the wind that morning.

I don’t like feeling vulnerable when there’s a lot of wind around. I like solid structures with wind. And our little tent trailer (big tent trailer—like two king sized beds) is pretty solid, but… I’ll take a house in a storm, thanks. Or a camper van.

The kids slept through it, of course. Tired, we managed to appease the children, get everything packed, go into town for lunch (I got exactly 45 minutes of shopping in a place where I wanted hours, but mama will take what she gets), and head out.


Homeward bound.


We got a late start on the drive home, but we stopped in Nakusp at this playground my kids love.

Here’s the lake across from the playground.

lake in Nakusp

I know this is a long post, but I’ve got to tell you about this girl I met.

It was dusk, and a couple of young women were on the other side of the playground by the swings. Well, I love swings. So I went over, and I didn’t mean to sneak up on the one, but I surprised her as I went for the swing. Remember, getting dark.

She looks up, and says, “Who the f*ck are you?”

I’m like, “I’m a mom, and my kids are playing over there, and I want to swing.”

And she lights up. She’s like, “That’s so cool! When I’m a mom, I’m gonna be like you. I’m gonna swing forever.” Then she apologizes for being a little drunk, gets on the swing next to me, and just like that, I’ve made a new friend.

She was 20. Half my age. And she made me proud to be who I am, in that moment. I still play on the swing set, and fly in my mind. That makes me happy.

Anyway, we left to catch the ferry. We rolled into our driveway at 2am. It’s taken me so long to post because my house is a disaster of laundry piles and stuff that still hasn’t been put away, but I think I’ve got a decent night’s sleep under my belt now, so that’s good.

home

Home sweet home. This is the little lake view where we live. I love BC. So beautiful here.

line

That was a loooong post, but such a great trip. I'm glad to be able to share it with you.

Thanks so much for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
All images mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @c0ff33a,@sapphic, @followbtcnews, @swelker101, @yabapmatt, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Welcome back 🙏 was missing some thing everywhere and then realised our Princess went on a break in nature's lap.👌 Seems you back from heaven...so far from city chaos to amazing so clear and so mesmerising views of the hill to have some good times👌...wonderful place ...especially your secret place..lovely view.....

Posted using Partiko Android

You made me smile so big with this comment. Thanks for the wonderful welcome back! Yes, it's so beautiful where we went. And at the same time, I live in the country so home is good, too. ;) 🙏💖🙏

Thanks "Princess" ...that wat was missing now and then...the ever charming and relaxing Smile.👌...good i make it happen 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

So glad you had a good vacation, but please know that You Were Missed! Love your photos and the story of where you went and what you did. Sounds like a fun trip! I love swingsets, too, all my life and even now! LOL! And that little town of Nelson sounds like a great place to visit! Thanks for letting us tag along on your adventures! 😊

You sure know how to make someone feel loved, my friend. Thank you! Yes, swinging is the best! My next poem is actually about it. lol! Something light for a change. ;) 💖💖💖

Looks like you really had a lovely time and the place looks absolutely beautiful honey 💚💚💚

It was a fantastic trip, yes. So glad I could share it with you, and I'm glad to be back. ;) 💖

Oh my goodness, what a fabulous trip! I could look at your pictures for hours, just trying to imagine all the details. Those mountains, your views were crazy! You were able to camp right beside the lake? Were there other campers or were you all alone? Sigh..must have been heavenly! Your little guys are precious btw...thanks for sharing :) Good luck with the laundry, lol it never ends right?

OMG, the laundry. lol! Thanks for such a lovely comment! There were other campers, but the sites were far enough away from each other. We had a nice private-ish spot right above the lake (like a 30 sec walk up from where the pics were taken). Could look down and watch the kids from the camp spot. These mountains are incredible, it's why I love living in BC so much. :)

Btw...this post deserve a curie vote....just my wish..you get it👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw, so sweet, thank you!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Perfect adventure, an excellent story (as always), great photos... and I am a little bit jealous :))

Oh, I really need mountain right now!

Mountain energy is something real, for sure. I don't do well without mountains around... Hills at least. Sorry I made you jealous. ;) But thank you for reading! So glad you enjoyed it. 💖

Hello katrina-ariel!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

what a great share of where you were away to. Beautiful pictures probably don't fully portray the grandeur of where you were. Glad it was a good break for you.

You know it. The pictures don't even touch the beauty of the places. Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment. It was a great break, but also good to be back. I missed PYPT! ;) 💖

so did I .. well mostly ... I was able to pop some info into the morning session and was able to listen in to part of the evening one.

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39