The love and hate for powernaps

in #ulog5 years ago

I think everyone who works in irregular shifts will totally agree with me on this. Powernaps are the way to make the world go round. Just closing the eyes for 20 mins, 20 not more not less and you are entirely rejuvenated again.


Pixabay


But ow my, there are so many pitfalls on powernaps that you almost need a master degree to balance out perfectly exactly what you need. My mom will agree with me on this for sure, I spend so many hours sleeping on the couch before and after dinner time which had nothing to do with powernapping anymore but everything with just being a lazy annoying kid with a structural lack of sleep.


I would also remember from those times that I had so many headaches, blaming them on everything but my own lifestyle. I guess in retrospect, playing high level sports, going out like crazy, and studying and working at the same time might just have been too much for what a body can handle. No powernap can fix that.


I stopped doing powernaps while I was living in the Caribbean. The hot humid air would make me wake up miserable leaving me with absolutely no intention of doing anything anymore. But then again, Caribbean life is so laid back that I also didn’t need powernaps. Either you were rested, or you would just chill in bed a lot. Sleeping is a national sport over there and especially if a lot of Surinamese people are your friends, you feel totally comfortable with sleeping in the whole weekend (what I never did actually, I just can’t when the sun is shining)


Winter in Switzerland. It is snowy and dark and my eyes tend to just drop when I am on my couch. Over the last couple of weeks my 20 minutes (including actually setting an alarm to really get to this) shutdown have helped me recover a lot during these dark days. My energy is totally all used during the weekends being in the snow and during the weekdays I am recovering in a way that a nightcreme-rehydrater would envy. These naps are pulling me through and I am finding my joy again


Until…. I forgot to set any alarm and I have slept through more than 1 evening appointments with friends. Oopsie! Sleep is taking over the daily regime and we need to set our mutual agreements again for our relationship to succeed. Winter, it is almost time for you to depart and give me my evenings back again!


Powernaps...we will meet again, but for now I am sending you to the door!

Sort:  

Hehe, just woke up from one 10 minutes ago. Love 'em.

yeah exactly, when you dont cross the 20 minute line you feel so rejuvenated.!
But if its longer, that is really like the end of your day of freshness

are you are regular napper? :D

If I do, it's about an hour after coming home from (mostly a real tough day of) work and indeed for 20 minutes, no longer. And that on average three times a week.

I wish I could have power naps. Really need them sometimes!

you are not a napper??

Well, just taking 20 minutes of closing the eyes and letting the mind flow also already helps tremendously in feeling rested again

I'm getting a power nap now because of a 5 o clock in the morning up and must go to friends tonight so here I go with this one. 🤣😂🤣😂 my favourite one.

Posted using Partiko Android

an artificially induced powernap!! hehehe let me remember this one when I need to rest on the minute hehehe

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.327 which ranks you at #2504 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85