#ULOG 3 x Music Update #1 // Making The Most Of My Partner's Absence

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Today, I'm starting a new series that will give some updates about my music projects. I figured that this can be a cool way to document the progress of my musical endeavors together with other artists.

I am privileged to share this with the Steemit community.

My current projects

Currently, I am involved in Y ARA and SIBB.

SIBB is a mashup and covers project by me and my siblings.

On the other hand, Y ARA is a passion project by me and my girlfriend, Gillian. We compose songs together, I play and record the instruments, I mix and master the songs, and she sings in most of the tracks.

My partner is in Taiwan

44359361_2323571184382911_4491634084707041280_n.jpg

My girlfriend roaming the streets of Taiwan.

Right now, Gillian is in Taiwan for her Master's studies. She'll be staying there for at least two years.

That's quite a long time!

But before she went, we made sure that we were able to do some stuff so we can have some things to offer while she's away.

We have recorded some covers. Some of them are already up on YouTube. And we are starting to share some of them here on Steemit and also on Whaleshares.

We got new exciting stuff also planned for next year! So, we're making the most of her absence, at least geographically.

Re-editing old songs

I have been learning so much about mixing the past few months.

And I know that our past releases need a lot of work to improve. Being obsessive-compulsive, I can't help but re-edit our past releases and improve them.

That's why for the past several weeks, I've been re-editing some of our already-released songs.

A few days ago, I started re-editing our song called Fall in Love This Christmas. We released this song December of last year. It was part of our first proper EP release.

I know during that time that I still had a lot of things to learn when it comes to mixing. I still do now. But it's pretty obvious that that track needs a lot of work.

Yesterday, I made a few tweaks to my mix, especially the volume of the vocals. The instruments and some aspects of the vocals were already improved, as far as my current skills and judgment is concerned.

master.JPG

Mastering "Fall in Love This Christmas" on Ozone 8.

So after finding the right level for the vocals, I tried to master it on Ozone 8.

I used the handy Master Assistant feature of Ozone 8. I loaded up LANY's ILYSB as the reference track. It gave me some cool starting point to build on. I then tweaked some of the knobs and buttons to my taste.

Right now, I'm pretty satisfied with how the track sounds.

I haven't tested it yet on a dedicated speaker with good subs. But I'm pretty happy about it hearing how vastly improved it is compared to the version we released last year. We can't wait to let you hear the hopefully much better finished product!

We got two more songs to edit and then we will re-release 6:50 PM hopefully before December! Just in time for the Christmas season!


CHECK OUT Y ARA!

Music Links

SPOTIFY: open.spotify.com/artist/1bPRfjxbCnpHxgGnU59Ml6
APPLE MUSIC: itunes.apple.com/us/artist/y-ara/1313988987
MUSICOIN: musicoin.org/artist/0xa747e892a8111ba324aecb898b3600c47b3ffc06
CHOON: choon.co/artists/andohyara
YOUTUBE: youtube.com/channel/UCaLA_bRY24GKXugM2gPATDQ

Social Links

FACEBOOK: facebook.com/andohyara
TWITTER: twitter.com/andohyara
INSTAGRAM: instagram.com/andohyara
TUMBLR: andohyara.tumblr.com

Donations

PAYPAL: paypal.me/andohyara

DON'T FORGET TO FOLLOW/SUBSCRIBE!

Sort:  

Nice!

You two are very talented. I enjoy listening to your songs. I have a tag called #boombox where my 2 alternate profiles share all music for free. Check it out sometime. I make Hip-hop, Inner City Soul but if you would like to make a tune together please let me know. I'm always willing to expand.

woah, nice! cool one! noted, man. thanks a ton! :)

Hi, @jhayehidio!

You just got a 1.78% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71