#Ulog 004 - Barrier to success

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

2018-06-28_19-22-48.png

Right! Now I think that I am pretty good at technology generally, however some things really cause me massive headaches. I don't give up however I do find that I can waste a HUGE amount of time trying to figure them out.

If anyone knows the answers then please speak up and help me out!

Example 1 - Live Streaming Saga

I decided that I wanted to try Live Streaming to deliver some online training. I have mentioned before that I have a review channel - well I wanted to be able to give my subscribers more value by recording some training as well.

I logged onto YouTube and clicked 'Go Live' - that bit worked but I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to share my screen. Cut to lots of footage of me looking confused and randomly clicking on things.

I thought "I know, I'll try Google Hangouts" - Hurrah I could share my screen but I couldn't find out how to record the hangout! So far I have wasted all evening trying to work out how to do it. I have asked the almighty search engines and NADA!

I decided to message someone who I had seen do it before and he suggested that I use OBS Studio. Great, I thought - that solves the problem. NOPE now I need to update my drivers..... yawn. I wish I had never started this.

I wish I had just recorded the training on Camtasia and uploaded it!

I also think it is time for me to explore Dlive instead.

Example 2 - Landing Page Lament

I decided to build a landing page.

Step 1 - I installed the software onto my WordPress website
Step 2 - I built a really lovely page.
Step 3 - Connect landing page with autoresponder....... doh! The autoresponder which I used (and had paid up front for) couldn't be 'integrated' easily. I have spent HOURS trying to work out how the code links to the landing page I have built.

I had figured it out and working then I realised the GDPR bit was not working properly. Back to the drawing board!

The whole point of this post was not to whinge but to identify barriers which suck up our time and stop us moving forward. I KNOW that once I overcome these setbacks I will continue pressing on forward, however I can see EXACTLY why some people give up!

I decided to run a poll in a Facebook group that I am in - such as do people have a video channel? Do they post to it regularly? If they have a channel do they want one?

I was trying to identify THEIR barriers to see if I could help in any way by creating training for them - hence my Live Steaming Saga!

Onward and upward (I am sure my drivers must be updated by now!)

Until next time,

J x

P.S I am a Plankton please upvote me - #upvoteplankton

Sort:  

Hope someone has the answers for you. It's nice to see a fellow Brit on here!

@kabir88

Live streaming is difficult. I applaud you on your stepping outside your comfort zone! I have tried live streaming and get very frustrated because no one shows up. Of course, I go live at the spur of the moment when we travel so that might be the issue.
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59