#ULOG 1 : On The Job Training at PLDT (Philippine Long Distance Company)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

image

This summer, I along with my batch mates had to take an On The Job Training course at a company that can possibly employ us aspiring Electronic Engineers in the future. This is a requirement in the curriculum which consists a minimum of 240 hours which is roughly a month and a half excluding Saturdays and Sundays. My school, Adamson University, limited us to only have typical working schedules which is Mondays to Friday from 8 am to 5 pm with lunch breaks from 12 noon to 1 pm. We were only allowed to have a maximum of 10 hours of overtime in the totality of our training but I think I won’t be using that since it won’t make that much of a difference. We have till the second week of July to complete the list of requirements to be passed and graded by our respective advisers at school.

image
⬆️ Facade of South Parañaque Branch

image
⬆️ Mainframe

image
⬆️Records

italicAll photos are mine

I had the opportunity of having an internship at one of the top television broadcasting companies in the Phillippines which is ABS CBN but I took too long before I seeked help to get in that company. I was already called for an exam and an interview but since there were time constraints I had to give it up and look for another company that would accept me right away which turned out to be PLDT, one of the leading telephone and internet providers in the country. To my surprise there was a branch 10 minutes away from our house so that meant I wouldn’t be subjected to the terrors of traffic and great expenses. I am able to go home during lunch and can wake up in the morning later than usual. Plus I had a schoolmate that is also training there. All in all we are five, the other three interns study Computer Engineering at PUP Parañaque. We answer calls of repairmen who go out to check in establishments or the telephone posts and we help them with by checking the records on a computer or adjusting the connections in a mainframe consisting of thousands of subscribers in South Parañaque. We sometimes talk to subscribers as well to check on connections problems. I’m actually down to my last 11 days of training and I have gained a lot of knowledge with respect to telephony and its processes.

Sort:  

You’re lucky that PLDT has a branch just a 10 mins away from your house. You don’t have to wake up too early in the morning plus you can have free foods at home. Such a good advantages for you. :)

Yup it’s very convenient for me ☺️

That branch looks familiar. Is that here in Sucat? I live in Greenheights. :)

Yup, near PATTS 😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jbmolano from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97