#ulog 5 Things to do this Saturday

in #ulog6 years ago

I have already swept and mopped the patio tiles. Am a bit concerned about the occupants (if any) on either side in that one patio light (which shows as backdrop to my closed blinds) has been on all night. When that happens and I am fed up with it, I knock on the door and ask them to turn off the light. No reply. While on the patio this morning I noted the blinds were open next door and the apartment would have been flooded with light all night. On the other side, the patio door is open wide and I have to ask myself who in their right mind would do that with the overnight temperatures being quite low. You might think I am being a bit of a busy-body, BUT for years I resisted writing fiction as each attempt stopped when I realised I had foreseen an event. Friends used to scoff and tell me to write a story with a happy ending, but my reaction was o ask "What is a happy ending?"
These days, a happy ending for me would be a quiet death and such feature at the beginning of the novel I am plotting. I won't go into details of fiction, but enough to state that if ever I were to take myself out of the game I would NOT do so in the place in which I live. I would take myself off to an anonymous hotel or whatever. Of course, now I am worried that someone has done that next door and the concierge desk is not open. I hope I will laugh at myself later in the day.

But that is not what I intended to start writing! The main task for today is to tackle adjusting the brakes (one side) of my wheeled walker. Mentioning this to my friends yesterday, I said I was looking forward to getting out my baby shifting spanner. (Am told this will not be the tool to use - need pliers - okay, I have.) But that little shifting spanner has a history.
baby shifting spanner.jpg
I bought it for my own use, kept on cord around my neck, when working on a gold mine in the Pilbara in the early '90's. I was employed as caretaker, but as soon as the owner realised I was strong and reasonably commonsensical I ended up working on the plant. For him the biggest point in my favour is that I am not gold hungry. As a result he had more gold returned to him when I had cleaned the jigs than any of his family - who had since worked out that might be the only way they would ever get paid. As it was, the wages owed to me were cancelled out by the exchange/transfer of a 1984 Toyota Hilux which had seen better days. There is a long story behind that, but another day or I will get nothing done here.
Am posting at a different time of day to see where in this wonderful world of hours, new posts originate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01