Ulog #55 | Managing expectations & finding solutions

in #ulog5 years ago

I started my new job on Monday, 7 Oct 2019.

With mixed feelings, I began my journey with a new organization and learning once again the company's culture and getting to know my colleagues. There is no one here that I know so it's a total fresh start for me. And so are the expectations from everyone around me.

That's the thing about expectations; everyone has it although we pretend it doesn't exist. It comes from within ourselves and if we don't control or contain it, it can overwhelmed ourselves without us knowing it. I'm trying to hold back these expectations that I have and maintain a neutral observation while understanding the political game in this company.

Since majority of the top management are from SEA countries, speaking in English and Mandarin seems to be the norm. As compared to my previous company in which I was based in HCMC, there is more English speaking here and less Vietnamese. I had wanted to improve my Vietnamese but I guess I'll end up improving my Mandarin instead. Nevertheless, for the purpose of my local communication and survival in this country, I will continue to pursue my education in Vietnamese language.

I did something new yesterday, something which I never thought I would do.

megijqdsj2.jpg
Photo by Afif Kusuma on Unsplash

I took a Grab Bike from my office to my apartment! Yeah.. Tell me about it; in my office dress suit and carrying my handbag and laptop bag. Never have I thought I would end up doing it but for the sake of survival and managing my financial, this was unavoidable.

It was a strange ride, being so open to every form of danger on the road but I dealt with it. Guess this is call managing expectations and finding solutions around it. With no transport allowance for my day-to-day usage, I had to find solutions around it. Grab Bike is very common among the locals and very affordable too. I have seen many foreigners take Grab Bike too so that was some encouragement for me.

So, my new life has changed so drastically that people who once knew me may not recognized me anymore. The lifestyle which I'm used to have changed to suit my current work demands. But, that's how life is; always full of changes and it's up to us to find solutions around it and manage the expectations that we put on it.

In some way, this makes me stronger and since I choose to believe that I'm a survivor, I will work around it and not let it affect me in anyway. Afterall, it's not that all bad, there are some good perks from it😍

We just need to focus on the good!

8gmrpewrxe.png


bad gif.gif

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

I know how you feel
I also know you will get through this
Sending you a tonne of positive vibes
And what an interesting tale to tell... grabbing to work on a bike...
Hugs!

Thanks so much..
Somehow this is my faith, hope and love story to tell I guess...

I applaud your courageous spirit.

Good for you!

Warning: Philosophy Incoming - Adherence is Purely Optional

"Discipline your disappointment. Savor every new joy sans nostalgia. Do not lament its passing. That is an act of futility. Nothing except you and the universe lasts forever. This habit will focus your mindfulness on the moment - free from past regret and future anxiety; and yet again, proving to yourself how awesome life can be."

In Lak'ech,

JaiChai

Thank you so much..
I like this phrase very much & I'll be sure to remember it all the time.

Discipline your disappointment

Don't expect. Gao dim. @tipu curate

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted 👌

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Wow, its a nice adventure. change is inevitable, and i admire you for looking at the beautiful side. Keep going and wish you well :)

Thank you so much.
I just keep looking at things at the promising side.

Thank you so much. I
Just keep looking at things at
The promising side.

                 - ireenchew


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations Mama! This post has been selected to be featured for the @steemitmamas Midweek Delights Curation Post.

To view your post along with other great selections please visit:
MidWeek Delights || Of SuperMamas, Caramelised Cinnamon Apple Pie, Expectations At A New Job & Stay-At-Home-Moms.

You will receive a 100% upvote from @steemitmamas for one week to show our appreciation for your quality post.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Congrats on your new job :)

Thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48