You never know where your happiness is hidden: my story of becoming an artist

in #ulog6 years ago

Hi, guys!

When I first logged in to Steemit I wrote a post about myself, about how I became an artist as well. Today I decided that it's time to refresh it, to writ it down again how I remember it.

 As it's said in my profile I'm a Kyiv based artist and illustrator. At the moment I work mostly with commissions on illustrations for books and personal commissions on drawings, but at the same time I study digital art to switch to game dev, my goal till next year. 

 I became an artist accidentally. Well, nearly accidentally. It was right before my wedding, about two weeks before it. I must say that I'm a deep introvert and wedding was more stressful then entertaining for me. I was so nervous that I started looking for an opportunity to make my stress level lower somehow, and suddenly drawing came to my mind. Before that time I never actually drew, and never actually thought that one day I will. I was dancing, singing, playing guitar, but never I saw myself as an artist. I was bad in it and I knew it.  

 At school I was attending classes of national Ukrainian painting - Petrikovska painting. And I really always was the lst one to understand at least something.  Than my granddad forbid me to go there, cause my marks at math were really bad. I stopped drawing, but didn't fix my math marks, and only as an adult I understood that I have a kind of numbers dyslexia.  

 I graduated as an art critic, and it was before I started drawing. Though I never worked as a real art critic I spent a year teaching kids history of art at painting school. But still it wasn't what I wanted. As I said before being an introvert I wasn't enjoying talking for eight hours a day and having company of 20-30 children all this time. 

 But everything changed in that nervous pre-wedding weeks. I bought some oil paints and started drawing with no idea, how to do it. My first attempts, of course, were horrible. But well, it was no need in a result for me, only in process. 

 After I started drawing regularly my hubby came to me and said that probably I could turn it into profession. I wasn't quite sure about that, cause after all by that time I even wasn't a self-taught artist, I was only a newbie who can't do anything, can't predict the result of my own creative movements and can't make myself make pictures that I want to, cause I have no skills. 

 Thus I decided that I should go and study. My first studying classes were traditional, meaning - drawing with traditional art supplies. My hubby presented me with good pencils and a set of watercolor and I started my studying journey. From the very beginning I was quite good at graphic, but a complete looser with painting.  

 I hated watercolor. I couldn't deal with it at all, even my teacher said "to stop torment myself" and keep working with graphic materials only. I was close to agree, but one day I decided to try to use this medium not for drawing something realistic, but for something fantasy type. 

 

I chose a frame from one of my favorite cartoons and started drawing it with water. And all of a sudden from most hated this medium transformed to one of my favorites! At the moment I already can use it to draw in realistic technique, but by that time discovering it's fantasy abilities was like meeting Buddha in the hall of your house, asking for a cup of nice tea.

 After I finished traditional art classes (it took me half a year) I received my first graphic tablet, which was Wacom Intuos. At the moment I work on Wacom Cintiq and the difference between them is like difference between a bike and a rocket, but by that time it was OK for me, even more, than OK. And so I started mastering digital art. 

 At the moment I still continue my study. I finish one course, I take another one trying hard to make better art than I do. I must say I have no talent at all, only everyday work brings results for me, but this is already a theme for the third post, where I plan to tell some thoughts about talent in general:)

P.S. All pictures in this post are my original art

See you in the next post!

Love, Inber 



Sort:  

Хорошая история и отличные рисунки!

Ahh that math dyslexia thing is killer (I have it too), especially back in "our" day when it probably wasn't really a thing that was known about. Same as you I could never improve my maths grades and my mum always told me to just study harder, but no amount of studying or tutoring from my very adept cousins helped. I continued failing at uni before I switched majors.

As it turns out, according to a psychologist I had to go see for a while, I'm actually pretty good at maths, as a lot of 3d and art in general is maths, just a diferent application. From a lot of your art it seems you're pretty good at that type of maths too ;)

My granddad did the same((( Study harder - but it never worked, only made me mentally unstable lol

You're not alone, it took me many, many years to find out about this thing and realise I wasn't just stupid after all XD

@inber, In my opinion, the journey of artist and meeting with own art hold really unique stories because art is not something which is born easily, in my opinion it's an divine aspect. And all your pieces are speaking art for sure. Stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

great drawing. Thank you for sharing your journey

Upvoted

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @inber, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83