#ULOG 7 | A Thousand Things To Remember

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180117_140538.jpg

a picture I took in class this year. I'm the one in earphones. Wiz is in a face cap. Sanjay is the one with the white paint on his face and the other guy with his head low is Oakley

There are times I consider myself very young. There are times I consider myself very old. But at all times, I know that I've experienced a lot. Maybe not as much as some others, but enough to cause me to pause and reflect.

Once I was Twelve Years Old

I remember a friend called Eze. He was big, strong and had a deep voice. He was your typical bully. He had bulging muscles, a deep voice and a scar on his face. Only thing is, he was my friend.

I was a nerd, more of a social outcast. I never could fit in. I preferred my novels and anthologies. Folks like me get bullied a lot. Someone would just come around, hit my book from my hand and walk away. But that didn't always happen every time. Why? Eze.

Eze would always walk up to the bully and demand an apology on my behalf. And trust me, you don't want to mess with Eze. He was my best friend at some point. I had to share him with the many girls that flocked around him though.

Then I was Seventeen Years Old

I met this guy called Peace. He isn't the kind of person to be my friend. He had friends, was socially active and had very beautiful sisters. About the sisters, I crushed on one of them for a while. Covers face.

Anyway, he was someone who assured me that I was normal in my own way. I later discovered he was like me in many ways. Most times, his social interactions were fake, activities to simply while away time. He was like me. He enjoyed the silence of nothing, the whispers of the night, the warmth and cold in being alone.

Now I'm Twenty Four Years Old

Between twelve and now, I have learnt a lot. I've learnt how to reach out to others. Currently, I'm learning how to love. I'm still a nerd in many ways. But these days I don't have to depend on just one or two friends. My network has increased to include nerds and 'normal' people.

I live a fuller life now. I guess that's a lot to be grateful for. For friends, for warmth, for relationships. But that's not all.

Soon I'll Be Thirty Years Old

When I was very young, I imagined that I would be through with my university education by the age of 21. Using that, I estimated that I would be married by 24. Then 24 looked like a very ripe old age. Now, I don't think so.

I told my mom I'll get married by 30. These days, I wonder if I'll ever get married. I have nothing against marriage. I just think its overrated. It should come naturally and not as some milestone one has to reach.

Anyway, I'll be 30 soon. Six years, you say? Well, I've learnt enough to know time flies very fast. I still remember things that happen when I was 12 like yesterday.

So about 30. I honestly don't know. But I'm young, happy and free. I get depressed too but I guess you can't have the highs without the lows.

I don't know where I'm headed with this essay. Guess I can say the same thing about my life. I'm just living it one day at a time.

Thanks for reading

Blessings

Sort:  

@Iamthegray, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin


Sponsored by @ogoowinner

You made me remember this song by Bruno Mars I think

I haven't head the song.

Maybe I'll check it out

Thanks for stopping by

Blessings

The beauty of this post is in the musicality. I like the highlight of each paragraph! Great post bro. Thanks for sharing
Lukas Graham will be proud

Smiles

Yes, I took a clue from Lukas Graham '7 Years Old'

Thanks for your kind words

Blessings

Very funny Sanjay pic

Haha

It was actually costume day

But yeah, Sanjay was always the funny one

This post has received a 1.71% upvote from thanks to: @iamthegray.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon158


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

This publication has registered to the writing contest thanks to @iamthegray.

For more information, click here!!!!

See the Minnowhelper contest conditions here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

This is really inspiring. It makes me also remember my days then. But now,am now 24 yrs and I just see reason to thank God for life.

This is good @iamthegray

Thanks boss

You're 24 too?

Awesome!

Say, when are you getting married?

Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29