ULOG 21 | A Ulog For My Brother

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180919_093948.jpg

I remember a song we used to sing in secondary school. It goes thus:

Some have food but they cannot eat.
Some can eat but have no food.
We have food that we can eat.
Glory be to God amen

That song talks about appreciating what we have. In this ulog post, I am going to talk about my brother. He’s the only brother I have and I love him

A Million Things To Talk About

When I think about my brother, a lot of things come to mind. For one, he is very generous. In fact, I daresay no one is as generous as he is in my home. He gives to the point where he begins to lack.

I remember there was a time when they were nothing to eat at home. My brother had some spare change and offered to cover lunch. When he returned with lunch, I realised he spent more on me than he did for himself. At that point, I felt somewhat ashamed because I was the kind of person who would spend more on himself than others. My conscience didn’t allow me take all of it. I asked him to join the meals so we could eat them together.

My brother is also very loyal. I can always count on him to have my back. You cannot speak ill of me within my brother’s presence. He would vehemently fight for me. I consider myself a loyal person but my brother beats me hands down.

One other trait, that’s probably obvious from the previous paragraphs, is humility. My brother is very humble. Perhaps, you might not agree with that assertion. However, when I observe his dealings with people below him, people he can easily bully, I cannot but marvel at how mature and humble he is. He treats everyone with respect. There is a but though…

He doesn’t accept bullshit. While my brother can be very generous and humble, any attempt to exploit him could make him really angry. He doesn’t resort to fists but his mouth will always express how he feels. I think I like that. Personally, I believe people shouldn’t be taken for granted.

The Burden I Bear

As his elder brother, my brother makes it very clear that he looks up to me. There are certain issues he brings up with me. There are about stuffs he tells no one else. When he talks to me, he asks for my advice. I look at him and wonder if he thinks I have all the answers in the world.

He’s currently going through a phase where he is becoming self-aware. He’s also coming to terms with his emotions. I’ve gone through that phase and so I know how hard it can be. I try to help as much as I can.

I’m grateful for having a brother like him. He’s my only brother but I feel like I have so much more.

I love you brother.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35