Ulog 14 | Chicken Feed

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Two days ago, a friend contacted me regarding a job opening. We had a brief negotiation and I began the job. About 10 hours ago, I ended the contact. That’s a summary of what you’re about to read and then some more.

Broke

For those who have been following my ulogs, my financial status has always been a major feature. Well, when I’m broke, a whole lot of things are affected. It even influences my decision making as I try to conserve as much as I can. Well, it certainly did this time.

I was with a friend in my apartment wondering who I could call for a loan when a call came it. It was from an old friend who knew I sometimes freelance as a writer. My friend informed me that this old friend of mine had called earlier. I guess money was around the corner. I was getting excited already.

This friend of mine told him someone had opened a blog and wanted a freelance writer. She wanted someone to provide news articles on the daily- three articles per day. He wanted to know if I was interested and how much I wanted. Of course, I was interested. I mean, I am broke. I indicated interest and asked to be paid $10 per day.

Chicken Feed.

My friend responded that $10 per day was too much. He explained that the job required short pieces culled from other news site. On my part, I informed him of my financial status and how it would affect my decision making. I was terrible broke so I could settle for any price. To ensure I didn’t shortchange myself, I decided to bargain from a higher level. At the end of the day, we settled for roughly $55/month. That’s less than a dollar per day and that covers the three articles.

Normally, I charge 36 cents per word. That should give me at two-three dollars per day. That means I was doing the job for far less than I normally would. In short, I was doing it for mere change. Well, if I was going to be paid that little, I didn’t expect to put in so much effort into the job.

Yesterday was day one and I sent in the three pieces. They were from news articles I had read that morning. I simply rewrote them in my own words and credited the source. I did the same for today. So when my friend informed me that the client was not impressed with the work, I wasn’t surprised and neither was he. For all we cared, she was getting true value for the money she paid.

Lessons Learnt

Now that I think about it, I remember someone had mentioned that I should never accept a job for less than its worth as that could affect quality. Even more, it could ruin one’s reputation.

Thankfully my friend vouched for my writing prowess so the client believed I was simply having a bad day. But next time, I would make sure to accept a job I could deliver up to par.

Well, I’m seeking out my next gig. If Stem prices rise before then, I wouldn’t have to.

Blessings

Sort:  

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.

@Iamthegray, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Aye

Will do that next time

Thanks for the constant support

God bless you all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41