#ULOG 09: COLORED CANDLES AND THEIR SYMBOLS/MEANINGS

in #ulog6 years ago

To My Lovely Readers...

Today will be my 9th #ulog post and want to share my experience when I went to Simala Shrine. Locals and people from different places visit this church in order to pray, to say thanks and have their petitions. I posted a photo of this church in mg previous post but I will share part of what I did in the church when I was there. Since this place, the Blessed Virgin Mary of Simala Shrine is visited by people, queued by people in praying to Mama Mary, aside from that they have these colorful candles which you will light them up and say your prayers. This is also a religious practice of “Dagkut” (to light candles).

DBDE3706-2F38-4FD3-BC22-5F0B4D3BE186.jpeg

3D9DECC9-639B-464D-BA02-2BD8BCBBA274.jpeg

Blessed Virgin Mary of Simala Shrine.

They have these colorful candles and can be bought for P35 pesos only. For Filipinos, we pray a lot and have deep faith in God. We always say our thanks, our blessings or even problems in our life we hand it to prayers which I believe it is powerful. Colored candles have their meanings and symbols when we pray. I’ve heard that for centuries of old traditions, Christians, Buddhists, Cults and other religions, candles were widely used by them as a symbol to praise their Gods. But now, candle makers use colored candles.

B4DA69B1-F2F6-4FE7-8E1D-675BE821BA83.jpeg

In Simala Shrine, there are about thirteen (13) different colors and each of them have their meanings. Here are the colors and its symbols:

(1) GOLD - Healing (Good Health, Recovery,)
(2) GREEN - Prosperity
(3) BROWN - Vocation
(4) BLUE - Perseverance (Employment, Career,)
(5) RED - Love (Friendship, Engagement, Family)
(6) BLACK - Souls (Forgiveness, Pardon)
(7) YELLOW - Peace (Courage, Strength, Hope)
(8) GRAY - Deliverance (Bad Ways, Things, Spirits)
(9) VIOLET - Achievement
(10) PINK - Thanksgiving | Happiness | Joy
(11) PURITY - Guidance | Right Path
(12) ORANGE - Reconciliation
(13) CREAM - Conversion | Faith

C09586D1-D23A-4DC0-A792-EE0F9D6EBF2F.jpeg

And so I bought these candles, five (candles) that I needed to light up. I bought the black, gold, violet, red and green. Black because I prayed for the souls of our family members who have been gone and for my Dad. Gold for healing because I realized that I needed to heal to recover my life that became worse before and praying it would be okay slowly. Violet for the achievements, I hope and always pray that God will guide me in everything I do with my career and decisions that I’ve been making. Red, now this is the best part, there are so mang people who buy this but for me not only the love to one person but love for the family I am praying also. Green, prayed for the success in life as long as I will be working hard. These are the prayers I have asked and I believe it will be done, just have faith to it.

Leaving you a message that I got, “Things always have a way of working out. Never underestimate the power of prayer, faith, and love”.

Thank you for reading my #ulog post.:)

A8DE7AB3-3C04-45BD-99BC-5DC29011A23E.png

329C04C5-CE50-4EF5-9FA7-E968E486DAE9.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing about it. It's an additional learning for us what does each color of the candles means.

@cassyjanine, thanks for reading my post. I really appreciate it. Yes I have read the meanings, it’s just amazing but the important is your faith in HIM. 🙏😇 have a blessed day.

Yes, absolutely. It's our faith to Him that matters. Have a blessed day as well.

Diha pod ko pag last month. It was sunday, grabe ka daghan tao jod, taas kayg linya ... Pero worth it jod sya. Thanks for sharing ..

@leeyan23, yes super linya noh? But agree it was worth it jud. Before 8am ga linya na mga taw and they did not even mind sa heat because they were thinking about getting in and pray.

Yes, 8am mi ni gkan sa kamagayan ko nanukad kay vhire man among gisakyan kay dmd kung mag bus samot ka dugay . 100 pdung ngadto 100 pod pdung uli .. nya' ga bawn lang mig para paniudto ... para save kwarta hehe ... ang CR fee nila tag 20 wa gabae pero aircon .. Ayos kaau...

Hehehe when we were there ga brownout and my niece wanted to pee na so nangita mig lain CR and linya sad kaayo lagi. Mao pud para maka save so magdala nalang ug food jud.

I apil ko ug ampo palihug @iamqueenlevita

Cge @rollingchic ... how many RED candles do I have to buy for you? 10? Todohon nani nato dzaiiii!

@iamqueenlevita Maninda diay kog kandila bih. Joke lang. Kusug kaau ko mo dagkut kandila sa Sto. Nino as in! Mura na gud kog nag daub! Hugot kaayo nga pangaliya bah para sa world peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92