Ulog #051 | Follow-Up to Reading Children’s Books to Poor Kids in Cumaná

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Fotoram.io(20).jpg

Greetings, everyone,

If you remember from this post, https://steemit.com/ulog/@hlezama/ulog-048-giving-back-to-a-community-left-behind, 20 days ago I was part of a beautiful initiative organized by my-pupil-now-colleague Yeny Gonzalez. She has been visiting this community for some time now, giving these children all kinds of recreational gifts.

IMG-20190323-WA0021.jpg

I decided to join her in this crusade and add reading children’s books to the equation. I put together a bunch of used books we had, some of them a bit torn and beat-up, glued them here and there, and gave them away to these kids, who received them as happily as it can be. The turnout was so good that we ran out of books and some kids were demanding their share. So, I promised them I’d send more books for them.

IMG-20190323-WA0032.jpg

Last week I gave Yeny a bag with more books and this is was the result. I could not be any happier.
IMG-20190323-WA0025.jpg

We are already organizing a 3rd session with 4 more volunteers, young professionals who were part of my Children’s Literature Course at UDO, will be joining us next month with more books to read and hopefully with some good snacks.
IMG-20190323-WA0026.jpg

The rewards generated by this post will be used to help cover the logistics. Thus far, Yeny herself have been providing the snacks thanks to her parents' donations from their home bakery.

IMG-20190323-WA0031.jpg

I will keep you posted on our next reading sessions, which hopefully will gather new kids and parents, so that we can spread this newfound love for reading and storytelling.
IMG-20190323-WA0028.jpg

As Yeny said in a message she posted, give a child a book and you'll have made his world different.
IMG-20190323-WA0027.jpg
We are possitive, these kids will find in these books inspiration to want to make their world a more colorful one.
IMG-20190323-WA0029.jpg
We want to think it is never too late to start making changes.
IMG-20190323-WA0033.jpg

I have my weapons of darkness destruction ready! These are some of the books I plan to read to them next time.

IMG-20190323-WA0034.jpg

Image sources: Images (except this last one) were taken by Yeny Gonzalez. I am using them here with her permission. First image modified at fotoram.io

Thanks for your visit.

Logo Equipo Cardumen-reducido.png

Visítanos en: www.equipocardumen.com.ve

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Remember to visit Ulogs.org,

where

The art of ULOGGING is a conscious effort to "mine the human" into its "awesomest version", while reshaping the entire INTERNET and creating legends, icons, great men and women, brothers and "True Celebrities".

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

@Hlezama I cannot even begin to tell you how much this post touched my heart. Engaging with the children in this manner is so beneficial for their development and improving their vocabulary, even if they are picture books it has a way of building their literacy and opens up their world to different possibilities.

I find your initiative more than amazing and I cannot help but thank you for making this world a better place, one book at a time. Thank you so much for that. Good luck with all that you do and may God bless you richly.

Upvoted and Resteemed

!tip 0.40

Thank you so much for yor kind words.

You are welcome. It comes from the heart, I assure you.

What a wonderful initiative here. I have given my full upvote (not worth a lot but it's something) to help with this. Books are so important for many reasons so hope you get as many kids as possible to read them 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your support

You're most welcome mate. Keep it up 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome initiative and the look happier. My regards to you and Yeny. Lovely photos and post cover.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @manoldonchev. Always good to have you over here. There were very happy indeed. When I went there to read for them, I was so gladly surprised they were eager to listen to the stories and ever more eager to put their hands on any of the books.

You see, under the current circumstances, people (children and adults alike) have grown increasingly pragmatic. They care for things that can provide them with an inmediate solution to any of their problems. They want money, medicines, or food.

That a bunch of really poor kids receive used books so gladly was an unbelievable experience and a reminder of the changes that can be done if only we give it a try.

I love that you are reading to these children. It will definitely be something that they take and remember forever. I know my children, now adults, still remember being read to by myself and others. It is a gift of your time and it is so precious.
Ren

Thanks for stopping by. That's why we do it. We have precious memories from our chidlhood associated to reading or being read to.
We are sure they will remember these moments and these books with fondness

This is such a wonderful project! I am going to try to bring some addition upvotes your way, so you'll have more resources for the books!

Thanks a lot. We appreciate all the support it is receiving. There is much love and plenty of good people in Steemit

Your weapons are killing me with delight for the little ones
Books do widen your horizons... and plants possibilities
When I was a kid, the books were my best friends

What you and Yeny are doing is amazing <33

Thanks. That's the idea. In barrios like this one children get used to violence at early age. Unless they are shown different realities and possibilities they grow up thinking that their whole existence is limited to the confines and rules of the barrio.

So sad
You and Yeny are their angels <33

This is a fantastic initiative. I love seeing the children with all those books.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Thanks for stopping by. We do too. Those poses, their demeanor with a book in their hands is just worth a million bucks. We were really surprised of the value a simple used book can have in these times, in an area like that. Most teachers I know would have adviced against it.

Those poses, their demeanor with a book in their hands is just worth a million bucks.

Indeed.

We were really surprised of the value a simple used book can have in these times, in an area like that. Most teachers I know would have adviced against it.
Why?

!tip

I just love the work you do, especially for children. Thank you for sharing @hlezama

Thank you for stopping by. It is a work we enjoy immensely. Unfortunatelly, everything has turned so complicated here now that helping others is almost impossible to do. We wish we had resources to do more.
After almost 20 years of "revolution" now we know for sure the poor have nothing to expect from populists ideologies.
It is up to profesionals and organized communities toraise awareness about the pressing issues that contribute to keeping these communities so impoverished.

Those pictures absolutely made my day! I know it's not much, but along with my upvote, I'm sending along a tip towards the gathering/distributing of more books. Thanks for doing this, @hlezama!

!tip 0.5

Thank you so much. We appreciate that gesture. On behalf of these kids, thanks!

You are making a truly wonderful effort. I love your post and keep doing this initiative.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85