Ulog # 008

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Ulog # 008|Our Cat

Dear Steemians,
Today I decided to put aside the sad topics and post something that was pending for some time: the presentation of one of our pets, so beloved now that I call him mijo (my son/child).

Disclaimer:

I am fully aware that in English words like darkie/darky have negative racial connotation. In Spanish, the use of diminutives such as negrito (little black) have a rather affectionate meaning.

Negrito is a 4-year old cat we rescued from an apartment complex. Our motivation was totally interested then. We needed a mice hunter. We had had other cats, all female and they became traumatic experiences. They had all behaved in the stereotypical feline fashion (indifferent) and ended up disappearing without any trace. Negrito
was raised with all the love and affection we could give him, especially after realizing that he had no plans of hunting any mice for us.

But the mice went away, anyways. I guess they got scared at this panther-like creature who looks like he takes no BS from anybody.

[Source])

Like most cats, Negrito likes to eat and sleep. But, I think he loves climbing and walking on roofs more than anything else. His food radar is quite developed. He may be blocks away from home, but he can sense (smell?) when there is activity in the kitchen. More fascinating yet,
he seems to have developed some radar to detect when I am coming home
. My mother-in-law tells me that when I am working he disappears or warders around looking for a place to sleep where the dogs do not disturb him. When she notices he gets “activated” or comes running on the roof, she knows I am near. So far, that theory has never failed.

[Source]

I got moved about the fact that during the days I was away attending my niece’s funeral, Negrito came home Thursday evening for dinner, did not see me and left.
He came back on Friday, did not see me again and left, not without meowing his way in and out
. He returned that night but refused to eat from anyone. My wife told me he looked distressed and almost talked. She told me she could almost hear him say “where is he?”
For the next two days, Negrito did not come back. He probably assumed I had joined the Diaspora. On Monday he did come, but refused to climb down the roof. He did accept some powder milk, though (an expensive treat). He was not in the mood for bread (his favorite non-meat food).

[Source]

I returned home on Tuesday, after sorting out some inconveniences in Caracas. My wife noticed Negrito’s agitation some minutes before I arrived. She decided to document the whole thing. This was the result.

[Source]

You can see his tongue anticipating some treats he was sure I had brought for him.

[Source]

Again, he must have some extra censorial power because I had brought him and the dogs some delicious leftovers from Tinaquillo

[Source]

He did not get any more loving than his usual antipathetic self, though
. He just desperately demanded his share, scratching my legs like a mad cat, and then went to sleep with my wife.
If that is not an ungrateful cat, I don’t know what it is.

[Source]

All pictures were taken by Manuela Vargas (future member of this community) with a MotoG smart phone (5 MP Camera 2592х1944 pixels) and modified with imgur.com


Support the initiative #ULOG promoted by @SURPASSINGGOOGLE and make your voice matter.
ULOG.ORG

Sort:  

I've just remembered when he tried to eat my "Bomba". Tell Darkie I say hi!

Haha. I will. I'm sure he will say something like, why hasn't she come back? We need to work on his manners. Thanks for stopping by

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

Haha I'll take that as an invitation...

oooh My wandering tom cat, Mr. Purr Bucket, stopped by today. It is always such a joy to see him. Lots of meows and purring and bumping against me on his way to the food dish. I so completely understand your affection/ admiration for Mr. Negrito!

I think they hunt much more than we know when it comes to the mice and vermin.

The photos capture Mr. Negrito's personality to perfection! I especially love the 2nd one and the 5th one.

It is good to see you back home with your wife and family.

PS thank you for the English version :-)

So good to read from you again, @marillanne. Yes, I'm back home, getting back on track. These little guys have helped a lot. I'll post soon about our dogs.
Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54