Join me on my quest to the local fall market in Sweden and let's buy a bunch of stuff we don't need #ulog

in #ulog6 years ago

This sunday I went out to the local fall inspired market!
I woke up at the crack of dawn (actually 8.00 a.m.) and of course I brought my camera and snapped some pictures

inCollage_20180917_101513407.jpg

Lets start off with some soulfood .. I mean of course just by looking at it you will get a feeling of nostalgia (mixed with a tiny splash off diabetes) What can I say.. the swedes like their pastries.

between the standard band shirts stands. And the stands filled with cheap plastic toys, that aren't cheap but will break the moment you step into the car and drive home.

I was of course diving for tressure

20180917_101250.jpg

And here we see some delicious home made Jellies. Beside the fact that they were home made the fruits were also picked by the nice couple that made the jelly.
Everybody knows of course the strawberry and rasberry jams/jellies

But in Sweden there are berries, I as a dutch person never heard off.

So let's go with my 2 favourites:

Hjortron
A jelly berry that looks a little bit like a blackberry . It has a very distinctive taste. You either hate it or you love it.
You can find these berries deep in the forest but more in the wet/swamp parts. (sometimes near lakes)
The berry is loaded with vit. C and prepared in jelly / drinks/ cake and sometimes even cheese)

lingon berry
A red berry, more sour than sweet. I heard people call them vox berries. You can find these in the forest in the moss , mostly growing near blue berries or if you don'f feel like going in the woods these berries are also found in your local IKEA...

inCollage_20180917_101533717.jpg

At every fall and winter market you can find hats, gloves and wool products. Everything you need to get all nice and cozy for those cold winter days

You want an alpaca earwarmer? or a sheepskin and go full leonardo Dicaprio in the revenant!

The possibilities are endless! So visit your local farm market and your dreams will come true !

inCollage_20180917_101700634.jpg

wishing you a beautiful day <3

Sort:  

Looks like a great market @heelsandmuffins - and I see you are new to Steemit... Welcome :)

I am your fan numer one.

She has that effect on people, but it will only lead to heartache my friend 😞

@thelastpoet I am glad you enjoy it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02