Ulog #13: A Bridal Shower For A Friend (Who Is Also Our Children's Friend)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


Designed using Canva

Usually, for the other bridal showers, we didn't bring the children along and even all the mothers get to have a break too to fully focus on the bride. So, what we do usually was the fathers who do happen celebrate the groom will take the children for a night and we alternate with them another weekend for the guys to hang out with the groom-to-be.

However this marked a totally different bridal shower that we BROUGHT the children, simply because Peggy, our bride-to-be is the children's friend too and they are hers!

Last Sunday, we had a bridal shower for Peggy to celebrate her upcoming wedding at the end of this month. We have been all excited about the bridal shower as we are really happy for her getting married.


Much was done before we got ourselves over to the bridal shower: Ensure the children went home early enough to take enough nap, wake up on time to fetch some props and wrote messages for her on some handmade bookmarks, fetched the flowers.

We fetched some lovely balloons where I found an awesome deal for incredibly pretty balloons near my house. We were trying to keep gold, black, white and rose pink as the theme colours, so I found this place selling chrome and confetti balloons. They are so nice that I who actually dislike balloons also fell in love with them, forgetting my preference of not wanting to be near them.

At the same time, one of our church friends who is practising bouquet wrapping now suddenly gave us 5-6 bouquets of flowers, just like that. Coincidentally, the florist who was supposed to do our order forgot our order. These are way nicer than what the florist usually does for us and they are FREE because our church friend wanted to give away anyway after her practise of flower arrangement. They were so so soooooo BEAUTIFUL. I must say her simplicity brings out the elegance of her taste.


Beautiful, aren't they? There were eustoma, hydrangea, roses and some other flowers which I could not identify.




We picked this place called Levain Boulangerie and Patisserie, because we know our bride-to-be loves desserts. You may read about my restaurant review here, if you are interested to know about the place. As for this post, I will be uploading more of portrait photos we took with the bride-to-be.

We arrived before 6PM and got such an excellent parking right next to the main entrance, then we started to unload some of our minimal decoration stuffs. The bride-to-be, Peggy was in our car so she just sat there, relaxed while watching us got busy, sometimes entertaining my son @littledrummerboy was reached first.


Our minimal decorations




There was another bridal shower going on coincidentally on the same night. Our children themselves sat at a different table, being "independent" away from us, WOW! They ran around and then sat down together playing some imaginary games together. After that, they ate all by themselves at the other table. When they got a bit bored, the older girls took out some colouring crayons and gave each one a piece if paper, and they drew something for the bride.





Peggy has been a good friend to each of us in different ways. Some knew her earlier, some knew her later. We have been in the same church but I only got close with her since last year. She is also moving to stay few blocks away from me after getting married so we do go out for meals once in a while. @littledrummerboy loves her and her company. He asks for her and he lists her into one of his friends. This is not me suggesting friends to him, but when I asked him one day who are his friends, Peggy was one of them! When we say we are going to meet Aunty Peggy, he would hurry up and get dressed whereas he might be delaying as much as he can if we don't bring her along.

Peggy is a very smart person with good brains, loves books, books and BOOKS! She has a whole study room filled with books and @littledrummerboy happily went over to help her set it up. We have similar topics because we tutor the same students but with different subjects so since then, we got closer and sometimes went out to eat together after class if I was doing class with the younger one and she was doing class with the older one. I am very comfortable with Peggy because she is a very REAL person who doesn't pretend to be someone she is not, direct in speaking her thoughts and does what she says. Seeing her marrying my husband's childhood and good friend who was also our best man for our wedding is just such a happy thing. They have personalities that are just right for each other. Both of them courted for 6 years, if I remember correctly. I know she is thrilled and has been showing me messages from her fiance who "gets" her very much recently and I let her show off happily too.

Here are some photos we took with Peggy during her bridal shower as we also chit-chatted with her during the night.













It is 2 more weeks to their wedding. It is really special because despite the different cultural traditions that may be different from one another as it is a Chinese marrying an Indian, they do not observe much of others' expectations but made very powerful choices on who to invite. I have very high respect for them in this matter and everything was done by private invitation to only those they deem close. It takes some guts to do that, I have to say instead of appeasing everyone, inviting Tom, Dick and Harry and Harry's father's sister's son, if you get what I mean. I look forward to a cosy wedding and I honour the couple's decision.

I love their wedding invitation card which has a male figurine in an Indian wedding attire with a female figurine in a Chinese wedding attire. In it, there is a card written with this awesome quote from Mad Hatter, and I truly enjoyed it. Very classy, I would say.



Yay, another wedding coming up! I love rejoicing with people who are getting married.

Thank you for reading my ulog. Photos are contributed by myself, @iamjadeline and also @josephinengpy who were also part of the bridal shower.









created by @zord189





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/09/19/ulog-13-a-bridal-shower-for-a-friend-who-is-also-our-childrens-friend/

Sort:  

Awww, I love their invitation! It's elegant and unique to their relationship. Can't wait to see wedding pictures in two weeks! (You'll be posting about it, right?) :D

Looks like you're having fun

Congratulations friend, beautiful publication.

What a happy bridal shower! Can't wait for their wedding!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49