The intriguing Camiguin church ruins

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hi Folks ,

How are you doing today?IMG20180605094708-01.jpegIn my end,days had been wet here in Cebu with rain falling like cats and dogs. I had to be honest it made me homesick at one point.But as I said in many of my blogs ones emotional health is an individual battlefield.So ,I try to be positive as always despite the fact that my super busy work -study schedule makes me sleepy and tired at most days.IMG20180605094123-01.jpeg

So while I am stuck in a traffic that could last an hour with the rain I decided to write about my trip to one of the church ruins in Camiguin.As you will see in these pictures its just the massive walls cloathed in moss .The greenery of the place is so calming to my tired spirit and not just to my two dark brown eyes.

IMG20180605093837-01.jpeg

I am fond of ruins like this as they have unique architectural taste and they take us to a time to a distant past embed with interesting stories unique to themselves.Churches those days werent just religious places but also a refuge from attack of nature or from invaders.They are places where lovers meet for a tryst or where feuding parties finally come into terms.These had been venues of happy events like wedding,baptism etc as well as of deep mouring as un death.So expect me to be in deep reverence when I am in such place
IMG20180605093751-01.jpeg

Being marked as a place with historical interest would help this place a lot in attracting tourist as well as in its daily upkeep.I am happy thay O saw many tourist hoppinh into this place for some souvenir pictures.I hope with the advent of social media theyd gain the recognition it deserve.IMG20180605095110-01.jpeg

IMG20180605095126-01.jpeg

IMG20180605095025-01.jpeg

I have been told by my German native teacher that in Germanynas well as in many European countries churches because of declining church attendees had been turned into museum,malls restaurant and clubs just so their exquisite workmanship wouldnt go to waste.Looking at this ruins I hope stakeholders and tourist alike understand these are not just seasoned boulders of an old church but more so a national identity thay have to be preserve.
IMG20180605095009-01.jpeg

I am happy to notice its very clean so gone are the days of irresponsible tourist.For a third world country like us tourism can hugely aid us in generating jobs and revenue hence I take it as a personal mission to advertise the paradise that our country is.My penny thought is if we cant do something good for our nation let us not pull it down by irresponsible degrading remarks on our motherland.

IMG20180605093646-01.jpeg

IMG20180605093405-01.jpeg

As I stroll on its vast perimeter I cant help but wonder the grandeur it was then,the secrets uttered between a confessor and a confesse priest,the promises uttered between couples,the prayers uttered in its walls and the tears it silently witnessed with the passing of years.Devoid of huge machine then one can only say it was either done out of deep faith or greatest coercion to achieve such a feat.IMG20180605093214-01.jpeg

IMG20180605093427-01.jpeg

Man's spirutuality will be defined and redefined in his lifetime.Social norms will change hence we see radical changes affecting our churces like the acceptance of same sex marriages in some countries yet here is what I know--irregardless of any social upheaval there will be people who would find it to humanity's best interest to preserve this cultural heritage.Because in these walls are the manifestation of what ot ia to be human that to me is the creation of something that will outlive them.
IMG20180605092822-01.jpeg

So while they remain to be seen and while you have the time and mobility to see them I suggest you do.Take those picturesque photos because like most things in this world even at our best effort this structures will cave in to erosion and the natural course of wear and tear.And dont discount the fact many of mans ancestral heirlooms that lasted centuries were wiped out by acts of war in name of freedom.Ironic indeed.

May this brief invitation written in haste by a culture geek and architectural vulture inspire you to find places worth remembering about

IMG20180605100147-01.jpeg

Till next post,
Ayn

Sort:  

Congratulations @gratefulayn your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

@bestofph sure i want to suport anything that imporved the platform.just that i dont know the in and out.how can i support the trail?happy sundayxxoxo

keep dry maam... amping!

@junebride just had a massage.not feeling well these days.happy sunday to you and your gubby xoxozoz


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

They seem amazing to visit.. I love these kind of historical things .. great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50