#Ulog 2 – Putting Harvests Away

in #ulog6 years ago

Wallas - 1.5  half gallons crop Aug. 2018.jpg

Using the knife netted me an extra half a jar of dehydrated onion from the 2 dehydrators this morning. Now I have 1¼ gallon jars of dehydrated Walla onions for the next year, and some.

Making yogurt - equipment1 crop Dec. 2017.jpg

Next I got my yogurt made and headed into the living room to try to clean out some of the harvests still sitting in there.

Garlic - roots off crop Aug. 2018.jpg

I’d gotten the garlic ready to be graded back over a week ago. But I’d not been able to sit down and do it until today.

Garlic harvest crop Aug. 2018.jpg
L – R, back: 2 red bags of German Extra Hardy seed, 4 bags of bulbs to eat and sell. Front: purple bag has Chesnok Red seed, red bag for eating

Garlic - German vs Chesnok crop Aug. 2018.jpg
Left: German seed, 6 cloves, Right: Chesnok Red seed

I was impressed with the seed bulbs this year. Not only do they have large cloves, but they have gone from 4/bulb to 5-6/bulb on a few. The results:

German Extra Hardy
• 360 – 370 cloves for planting seed, weighing 14.45 lbs
• 16.65 lbs of inferior bulbs for selling and eating
• Total: 33 lbs

Chesnok Red
• 40 cloves for planting seed, weighing .53 lb
• .65 lb of inferior bulbs for eating
• Total: 1.18 lbs

Total Harvest: 34 lbs

Garlic in root cellar crop Aug. 2018.jpg
Garlic in the root cellar in back, last of the onions in front

So the garlic went down to the root cellar and I started on the potatoes.

Potatoes inside crop Aug. 2018.jpg

They had been laid out on paper to cure due to so much rain. They seemed perfectly happy there, but I was tired of them in the living room. They had already been graded by size, so they just needed bagged up and weighted. The results:

• Large: 6.23 lbs
• Medium 16.14 lbs
• Small 6.34 lbs
• Damaged were not weighed (I forgot) but I’m guessing 22 lbs, turned into 27 pints of French fries

Total: 50.71 lbs

Potato box crop Aug. 2018.jpg

I have a potato box in the root cellar. My husband and son are the only ones who eat potatoes, and they don’t eat a lot of them. So this is big enough for us.

Potatoes in potato box crop Aug. 2018.jpg

The variety is organic Dark Red Norland from Moose Tubers/Fedco.

Chopping Wallas crop Aug. 2018.jpg

Once the living room was emptier, I had Walla onions to chop for the freezer. I pulled up 12 more of them. The first 2 onions alone netted 12 cups of chopped onion.

Wallas - 38 cups chopped crop Aug. 2018.jpg

The 12 onions gave me 38 cups of chopped onions for the freezer.

There’s still ¾ of a row of them out in the garden. I am undecided on whether to process them before they rot, or gamble they will survive until the tomatoes ripen and I can use them for sauce and ketchup.

Tomorrow, I figure out how to keep the storage onions dry during the next monsoon….

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Wow, what a harvest! :)

You're making me want a root cellar. Perhaps a project for bext year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83