#ULOG 3: Why we shouldn't procrastinate and be stressed in college

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

The previous week was the most jam-packed week I've ever experienced this semester. Just like other students, I found myself cramming for multiple deadlines. It was very difficult to maintain quality while getting things done because time was limited. Often, I thought to myself that if I started working on my tasks earlier, I would've had more time. But then, it would be a waste of time to dwell on negative thoughts; what's important is that we learn from our mistakes and never repeat them.

Paralysis by analysis

Based on my observations, I often had a hard time starting my tasks early, i.e. as soon as they are given in class. I myself think that this is a bad habit that needs to be changed.

One reason I identified for this is that I couldn't start the task immediately, thinking that I have to be well prepared, research thoroughly on the topic, and be on a particular mood to work on it. In simple terms, I think too much about things that I have to do and end up not doing them; in effect, the task is never done, i.e. paralyzed.

Sometimes, because of 'perfectionism', or wanting to create something that meets certain standards I've set, I end up not getting anything done. This is because I myself get intimated with the standards I've imposed.

So what 's the solution for this?

Well, it's a lot simpler than you imagined - just start doing it. It might seem counterintuitive, but that's the only way. You don't need to be in a particular mood to get it done. The reason why cramming works for most students is that the deadlines pressure them to generate ideas and finish a task even if they're not in the mood to do it. Surprisingly, they get it done in a short amount of time (only with compromised quality), but couldn't do it days or even weeks ahead, knowing that they still have a lot of time to do it. In short, they need external stimuli to compel them. We know that crammed homework are poorly done and get low grades. So why wait for the deadlines? Start doing them right after they are given so that you have more time to plan, execute, and revise if problems arise.

Proverbs 12:24
The hand of the diligent shall bear rule: but the slothful shall be under tribute.

Feeling like a failure even after doing your best

There are times when you've done everything you could but still feel like a failure. This also happens in college. It's normal to feel bad for a while, but you shouldn't put yourself down too much. The fact that you're being worried about how you perform in college proves that you care about your responsibilities. Thus, dwelling on the negative side of things and stressing yourself won't be of any help.

What you should do instead is to assess yourself and your doings. What do you think are your shortcomings? Did you do your best? Why do you think you're feeling that way? What do you think you should've done instead? Answering these questions would help you identify your lapses and correct them.

Also, it is important to commit your plans to God before doing anything.

Proverbs 16:3
Commit thy works unto the Lord, and thy thoughts shall be established.

Acceptance: There are things you can't change

After the stressful semester, I realized that there are things that we can't control. As a Christian, there were instances when things didn't go as planned no matter how much I worked for them. This is because God has a different plan, which is much better than our own.

There was a time when I wanted to transfer to University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman, the flagship campus of our university. Contrary to what most people thought, it wasn't because of prestige. That campus only happened to be closer to our residence in Bulacan, compared to UP Los Banos (UPLB) in Laguna. I was eligible for transfer because of my academic record, but our college secretary did not allow me due to certain conflicts between colleges, which I can no longer disclose here.

I felt bad that I wasn't able to transfer because it meant longer travel times and that I wouldn't be able to see my mom as much. But then, as years passed, I realized that it was better for me to stay here at Los Banos. I was able to know join the UPLB BRead Society, which truly changed my life. I met the most wonderful people I have ever met, and they led me to the Church of God, which I have been seeking all my life.

Romans 8:28
And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

As the semester comes to a close, I learned to be more diligent to do things immediately, not stress myself too much and focus on what I can do, accept things that cannot be changed, and give way to God's plans in my life.

Instead of solely relying on what we can do, why not trust God and give way to His will?

Proverbs 16:9
A man's heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.

Lastly, as Bro. Eli said, "If you trust in God, you will not be anxious about anything."

1 Peter 5:7
Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

32903907_854611384750040_1258963701684240384_n.jpg

Sort:  

Hello GMC good afternoon. I was wondering if you live in Bulacan? or you were from Bulacan. Like born and raised. You write well. Though I'm not into into religion. I must say you're good.

Hello. I used to live in Bulacan, but not anymore.

I see. Thank you^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49