#Ulogs Thoughts on Depression. A Topic For All

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Little drops of me.

In a conversation last night, I was asked what my thoughts on depression were. Well here it goes ;

image

At 4:00am this morning a thought crept into my mind.

How does a mere feeling grow into depression?"

You may want to know why I referred to it as "a mere feeling" I'll tell you why.
The online dictionary defined depression as :

"the FEELING of SEVERE despondency and dejection"

Before anything becomes a part of us or something we identify with, it first is a FEELING.
Take a look at a FEELING such as heartbreak, people tell you to get out and meet people so you can get on with your life. Imagine a situation where you don't take this advice and you dwell on that feeling all day every day for more than a week; that's the first step to depression.
Imagine a FEELING of not being enough, needing constant reminders that you don't need to be anything or anyone else but just you; I think it's called LOW SELF ESTEEM but what do I know? I'm only expressing my thoughts.
Imagine FEELING alone in a crowd, feeling like no one sees you, feeling lost in the midst of both friends, family and even strangers.
Wondering why I'm giving these instances? I'm trying to establish a pattern.

In my bid to discover best possible ways of averting depression, I asked a few friends. Here's what they had to say.

image

Let me ask you this;
Would you consider it incorrect if a person says depression is first only a feeling before it grows into a full blown depression?
Because that's my opinion and I'm more concerned with curbing it from its early stages of growth. Because I feel anti depressants and other prescriptions don't do justice to it. In my opinion it merely suppresses it and doesn't cure it.
And I have a supporter on that;

image

If I was asked my opinion for best possible mode of aversion I'd say when we notice any kind of feeling that could become depression, we should talk about it with someone or better still with the subject of that feeling. To me, effective and honest communication can go a long way.
And I have a supporter;

image

I do not yet know what the cure is but if you are reading this and you feel depressed for whatever reason, don't look at it as a mental illness (that's giving it too much power over you) look at it as an obstacle to your happiness. Obstacles, we can overcome but a mental illness we identify with.
If you are reading this and you know or do not know someone going through this, I'm challenging you today to make it a duty everyday to add a little bit of shine to at least one person's world.
Or you could adopt my friends mantra😁👇

image

Let this be a guide
" It remains a feeling until you submit yourself to it, then it becomes depression thus allowing it to own you".
Just my thoughts.

I'll leave you with this while I continue to ponder on the topic

Add a little shine to the world everyday in what ever capacity you can, it's our world so let's make it better"

image

Steemit is a beautiful place

Do well to resteem, it could get to someone who needs it.
Will talk about my day in my next post😘😘
@ulogs @surpassinggoogle

Sort:  

Well detailed dear, thank you for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51