Standing on the moon

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I read this song from a post of my late American husband's exwife on celebrating "Father's Day". Somehow I feel a little angry. If at that time they treated him a little well, how could such a huge tragedy happen? (Of course, they also blamed me for his death in China. )
Only God knows there are a lot of reasons behind it!
But the undeniable fact is that he was memorized by his American family. They miss him like me...

Screenshot_20180628-144035.jpg
source

I love this song so much, and I find there is not its Chinese version till now, so I just try to translate it into Chinese. At the same time I want to say a big "Thank you" to my dear Steemit friend @island-girl for her great help in my translation. She really has no idea how precious it is for me to get her sincere help. Please read this blog written by a kind American teacher in China, anyone can know how poor English education in China is.

Me: I just try to translate an English song into Chinese, but I have trouble in it.
"Where talk is cheap and vision true", how to explain this sentence?

Her:"Talk is cheap" refers to something unbelievable or doubtful, like when one tells you I will do this or that, then you don't believe that person will do it.

In the past few years, my late American husband was my wonderful English teacher. We spent a lot of happy time in learning from each other about different language and culture. In fact, it was just last night that I still couldn't help breaking into tears. Because I really can't suffer to lose my dearest and most respected American teacher, I really can't believe he has gone forever...

While crying, I began to count in my mind those new English words which my late American husband told me again.

Screenshot_20180628-221118.jpg

Sorghum高粱
Arboretum植物园
Formaldehyde 甲醛
Anadromous
catadromous
diadromous...

Oh. Each English word above can match a story or a scene with my late American husband, keeping on counting them helps me keep good memory alive!

20180627_220314.png

OK, let's enjoy this great song's lyrics!

Standing on the moon站在月球上

这是一则爱的宣言,或者这是一首亡者的政治宣言--反战歌曲。当然,每人有每人自己独特的理解和感受!

来自Grateful Death“感恩至死”乐队!

Standing on the moon

站在月球上

With nothing else to do

无事可干

A lovely view of heaven

天堂风景如画

But I'd rather be with you

但我宁愿与你厮守
Screenshot_20180627-221415.jpg

Standing on the moon

I got no cobweb on my shoe

Standing on the moon

I'm feeling so alone and blue

I see the gulf of Mexico

As tiny as a tear

The coast of California

Must be somewhere over here, over here

站在月球上

足无纤尘

站在月球上

我感到孤寂忧伤

我看到墨西哥湾小的像一滴眼泪

想必加利福尼亚海岸就在那边的某个地方

Standing on the moon

I see the battle rage below

Standing on the moon

I see the soldiers come and go

There's a metal flag beside me

Someone planted long ago

Old glory standing stiffly

Crimson, white and indigo, indigo

站在月球上

我看到了下面战火弥漫

站在月球上

我看到士兵来来往往

在我旁边有一茎铁杆旗

很久以前某人插在了那里

往日的荣光僵硬地挺立着

深红,雪白与靛蓝...(美国星条旗三色)

20180628_172023.png
source

I see all of southeast Asia

I can see El Salvador

I hear the cries of children

And the other songs of war

It's like a mighty melody

That rings down from the sky

Standing here upon the moon

I watch it all roll by, all roll by

我看到了整个东南亚

我也能看到萨尔瓦多(萨尔瓦多--一中美洲国家)

我听到了孩子们的哭声

以及别的战争歌曲

像一首雄伟的旋律

从天空降落

站在月球上

我看到一切如过眼烟云

Standing on the moon

With nothing else to do

A lovely view of heaven

But I'd rather be with you

站在月球上

无事可干

天堂风景如画

我却宁愿与你厮守

Screenshot_20180628-172804.jpg
source

Standing on the moon

I see a shadow on the sun

Standing on the moon

The stars go fading one by one

I hear a cry of victory

And another of defeat

A scrap of age old lullaby

Down some forgotten street

站在月球上

我看到太阳上面有个阴影

站在月球上

星星一个个褪去

我听到了胜利的欢呼

又传来了失败的哀喊

像远古的摇篮曲

飘荡在某处遗忘的街巷里

Standing on the moon

Where talk is cheap and vision true

Standing on the moon

But I would rather be with you

Somewhere in San Francisco

On a back porch in July

Just looking up to heaven

At this crescent in the sky

站在月球上

这里语言苍白但愿景真实

站在月球上

我情愿与你在一起

在圣弗朗西斯科的某个地方

在7月的一个回廊

我们一起仰望星空

看天上的这一弯弦月

Standing on the moon

With nothing left to do

A lovely view of heaven

But I'd rather be with you, be with you

站在月球上

无事可做

天堂风景如画

我却情愿和你在一起,在一起
Screenshot_20180627-221212.jpg
source

Below is a comment on this song from a certain webfriend.

To me it's about wanting to get away from all the crap in the world (war, children starving etc) and dreaming about standing on the moon and being happy to be away from all the garbage. Then the singer realizes that the person he loves is still on earth, and despite all the uglieness of the world, he wants to be back there (despite the lovely view of heaven) because that is where the person he loves is. it's sort of a hidden love song.

对我来说,这是一首关于想要逃离混乱世界(战争,饥饿的孩子等),梦想能站在月球上,幸福地避开纷繁芜杂人间的歌曲。然而歌者又意识到他爱的人儿尚在世间,尽管世界是如此丑陋,他还是想要回去,(即使天堂如此美景)只为他爱的人还在那里。所以,这是一首关于潜藏之爱的歌曲。

Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80