Learning Chinese with me(Part 2)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Since I am enlightened by the series of blog posts on "Learning Spanish with me" from @sakurart, I think it is really a great idea, so I just try to post a series of blogs on "Learning Chinese with me"here.

Below is part 2 of "Learning Chinese with me"! As everyone knows, it takes a long time for us to learn a second language, especially there is a very huge difference between Chinese and English. I have learned English for so many years, unfortunately, I am still a failure.

OK, let's learn some basic Chinese characters together. This part is about food.


Today my sister guided me to a have a dinner, I just took 2 photos. One is a pumpkin coach near the restaurant, the other is a grilled fish in the tinfoil. I remember my late American husband once said that the whole fish with the head looked so weird, as if it was watching him, he didn't eat it. A Steemit friend also uploaded a fish photo in Chinese restaurant with a caption "the fish was watching you" in one of his blogs. However, it is the tradition of cooking fish in China. They love to keep the fish intact when cooking.

"Pumpkin coach" plays an important role in the fairy tale/movie "Cinderella". By taking "pumpkin coach", Cinderella got the precious chance to go to the palace and meet the honorable prince. I always feel the internet is just my "pumpkin coach", without the help of internet, I couldn't have met my late American husband this life, even the next life. However, fate always works in its own miraculous way, it turns out that the story in the fairy tale can really happen in reality!

So now let's learn "pumpkin coach" and "grilled fish in tinfoil" in Chinese together.

Screenshot_20181028-214039.jpg

pumpkin--南瓜 (nan gua)
coach--车 (che)

so "pumpkin coach" is 南瓜车 in Chinese!

Screenshot_20181028-214100.jpg
fish--鱼 (yu)
grill--烧烤 (shao kao)
tinfoil--锡纸 (xi zhi)
"Grilled fish in tinfoil" is 锡纸烤鱼.

In China, there is a variety of grilled food in tinfoil, such as "grilled shrimp in tinfoil" 锡纸烤虾, "grilled needle mushroom in tinfoil" 锡纸烤金针菇.

shrimp--虾
mushroom--蘑菇

Let's get a summary! We have learned 4 kinds of food in Chinese this time.

pumpkin--南瓜(nan gua)
fish--鱼(yu)
shrimp--虾(xia)
mushroom--蘑菇(mo gu)

Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30